Execute .bat Files OS X 10.8

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by Silverrune, Aug 2, 2012.

  1. Silverrune macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    #1
    The Batch file in question executes a process of sorting to find select texture files for Skyrim. It can be found here: http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/mods/20801/#
    I was wondering if there was anyway to execute the batch file in question?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    .bat files are Windows batch files and will not run on Mac OS X.
     
  3. Silverrune thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    #3
    Is there anyway to convert it to a terminal executable file?
     
  4. meme1255 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    #4
    Could you send me / post here (content of) the *.bat file? :)
     
  5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    No, as the command structure is completely different between Windows and Mac OS X. If the commands even have Mac equivalents, you'd have to create new commands for the Mac. Nothing will "convert" a .bat file to a usable format for Macs.
     
  6. meme1255 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    #6
    Post the bat here, I'll not download whole texturepack which is useless for me.
     
  7. Alameda macrumors 6502

    Alameda

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    #7
    Well... it could be converted. It would have to be re-written, of course, but depending upon what it does, it may not be any problem. If he could simply paste in the contents of the .bat file here, we could determine whether it can be converted or not.

    In general, Mac OSX Bash scripts can be a lot more powerful than Windows .bat files, but if the .bat file calls a Windows binary which has no equivalent, then we can't do much.
     
  8. Silverrune thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    #8
    The texture pack isn't in the file download, you have to download them separately and insert them yourself.

    ----------

    Ya.... It's kind of long. To long to post actually.
     

Share This Page