External Controls - Work With iPod Touch?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Accessories' started by Rapmastac1, Sep 23, 2007.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Rapmastac1

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Location:
    In the Depths of the SLC!
    #1
    Has anyone found any external control devices that work with iPod touch? Like the dock connector thingy that makes it so you can change tracks and adjust volume, will these work with the touch or not? I'm gonna try my luck now at Target (if it don't work, I can return it).

    The reason I bring this up is becuase I just sold my iPod Nano and I need to use my Touch at work to listen to music. I would like to just be able to keep it in my back pocket with my wallet and just control it via the external controls, which I could just clip to my apron.
     
  2. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Rapmastac1

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Location:
    In the Depths of the SLC!
    #2
    I looked it up and it's the iPod Radio Remote. Do you think this will work? It's 50 bucks. I have an FM transmitter that I connected to my ipod touch and it worked just fine when I started playing music.

    I don't care if the radio works or not, I just want the external controls.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    i had a dock with a remote control and it still works with the Touch.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #4
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #5
    I just tested that of works properly with the iHome if that's an accessory that anyone is looking at.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Sweetbike40

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    NY/NJ
    #6
    the remote

    I couldn't wait to find the little remote (that links to the earbuds) that came with my 40GB iPod. Found it, but it didn't work. :(
    It requires another little port on the iPod.
    Someone needs to make something like that for the Touch. Just to make it safer when you drive too. I thought i'd still use my Nano for the car but i can't help but just take the Touch with me now. The Nano will still go with me to the gym though.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    wizzracer

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Location:
    NZ
    #8
    Yes but not in your pocket
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    wizzracer

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #9

    He asked external remote, not in his pocket. That would require a IR plug-in devise. You can always get a corded plug-in control.
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #10
    I use the iCombi bluetooth adapter off the Oakley website (~$50) and the Motorola S9 bluetooth stereo headset (~$75) with mine. It works great for adjusting volume and changing tracks.
     
  11. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #11
    Since many other non-portable control systems work (such as my Klipsch iFi), I think something like this might work (it doesn't have an FM tuner that might muck up compatibility)-

    http://cgi.ebay.com/Remote-Control-...ryZ79877QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
    (EBay item 250167839285, I'm not the seller.)

    Let us know what you try from Target. After I got my Touch, I was going to try one of these cheap dock connector-based remotes. Some of the others have a Shuffle-type control cluster, which I'd prefer over the old Apple remote controls.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Rapmastac1

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Location:
    In the Depths of the SLC!
    #12
    I'm gonna get one in a minute and see if it works or not. I don't want the FM Controls or that stuff, I just want to be able to pause, play, skip and go backwards. I work at a Restuarant and need volume control on the fly (I'm a cook), but I don't want to have to have my ipod hanging on my side where it could bump against something. If I had controls to just clip on the top front of my apron strap, then it would be much easier.

    That radio one is for the dock connector, it has a cord that goes out (long cord too) and it goes to a device that looks like a shuffle (second gen), and then you connect headphones (which it comes with Apple ones, just shorter) to that end. So I'll see if I can pick it up tonite, gotta go, brb.
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    savar

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    District of Columbia
    #13
    What about car audio?

    Has anybody tested it with car audio units that have ipod adapters? I've got a pioneer head unit with an ipod interface...it would be sweet if it worked with the touch.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Rapmastac1

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Location:
    In the Depths of the SLC!
    #14
    Well I got it, and I figured for sure it would work for just at least the audio control, but the second I connected it, I got a "This accesory not supported by iPod". So that is out as a form of audio control, it sucks too cuz this was on clearence.

    I doubt Apple will get a firmware update for this device to work. I can easily see Apple making something like it but different and selling it and saying it works with the touch, cuz they just want more money from us, verses them putting out a firmware update for all of us who already have one. It seems the same story with the video out cables, why the heck won't the 5g ones work with the 6g ones? The ipods are almost exactly the same!
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    #15
  16. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Rapmastac1

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Location:
    In the Depths of the SLC!
    #16
    If you read anything I wrote in this whole post you would know that that iPod/Apple Radio Remote is the one I'm talking about, with the shuffle sized clip and the shorter headphone cable with the headphones... No, it does not work, the iPod says so when you connect it...
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    #17
    Speaking of external controls, what about the FM tuner. Does the
    FM tuner work with the iTouch yet?
    I really wish they just stuck a radio in there
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #18
    the blueye remote works fine, just doesnt show information on the screen when it needs to it just says accessory connected.

    but controls work perfect amazingly.

    its a good alternative to the appple remote control as the blueye remote has bluetooth in it basically meaning you can use it as a hands free kit on your phone :D

    and its slightly smaller than the apple remote.
     
  19. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #19

Share This Page