Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

asmith3006

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 5, 2006
Hi.

I am an Avid editor and want to try out FCP as it looks quite fun. I don't have the money to buy anything other than a Mac Mini really, but I have spotted that FCP 5 doesn't run on it. Is this a "we really don't recommend it if you're editing full res HD" or is it a "we've completely disabled it so you'll be forced to spend more money"?

With the new release of OS X coming soon(??) should I wait, or do Apple do a nice promotion of giving you a free upgrade if you purchased in the last month or so?

Finally, if it's the graphics chipset that's the problem, is it likely that Apple will upgrade the chipset soon on the mini or is this a deliberate action to keep FCP off of the mini?

Thanks for all answers.

Andrew.

tehybrid

macrumors member
Nov 21, 2006
FCP should run on the new core2 minis, but dont expect motion or shake or anything pretty to work with the integrated gfx. And it isnt that Apple want more money from editors it is that the mini is a crossover/grandmother computer, aimed more towards grandparents or windows crossovers than FCP users. Apple usually lets people upgrade to the OSX upgrade if they bought slightly before, but I believe there may be a small fee (around $10). Dont expect any mini updates for a while, they already use core 2 chips what else do you want? A Core 2 Quad in a Mini?!

Kevin

OldSkoolNJ

macrumors 6502
Jul 10, 2006
Sooooo .. You don't have the money to spend on more than a Mac Mini but you do have the $1300 to spend on FCP??? Remember you will also have to up your Ram on that machine to be able to even load FCP on there also.

Kevin

Iverieli

macrumors newbie
May 23, 2006
Scotland