Finder using 163% CPU

Discussion in 'macOS' started by MacTruck, Jun 1, 2005.

  1. MacTruck macrumors 65816

    MacTruck

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Location:
    One Endless Loop
    #1
    What is going on with Tiger? My finder is constantly using up all the cpu cycles. It even went to 163%. Don't know how that is possible. I saw in in Top Terminal. Not liking tiger at all.
     
  2. dubbz macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #2
    Whoa... 163% should just not be possible on a Powerbook. Maybe it stole some processing power from your second computer? ;)
     
  3. MacTruck thread starter macrumors 65816

    MacTruck

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Location:
    One Endless Loop
    #3
    Maybe I got the dual core powerbook by accident.
     
  4. JzzTrump22 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    You wish, those don't even exist yet.
     
  5. SteveC macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    #5
    I believe he was being sarcastic. ;)
     
  6. sjpetry macrumors 65816

    sjpetry

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    #6
    I think your Activity Monitor is crappin' out on ya. ;)
     
  7. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #7
    Darn, I hate when that happens.

    Oh a serious note, call apple and see what they say!
     
  8. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    This isn't normal. Are you using any haxies or UI "enhancements"? Is this a clean install or upgrade?
     
  9. MacTruck thread starter macrumors 65816

    MacTruck

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Location:
    One Endless Loop
    #9

    Nope, nothing but fresh tiger install with all updates applied. In terminal I use top to view activity. That is where I saw it. It will got to 90% just from having a finder window open of my hard drive. I don't get it. Never had a problem in Panther.
     
  10. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    Hmmm... OK, troubleshooting step 2, log in as another user. Is Finder still sucking way too much CPU? If so, we have a real problem. If not, we're in very good shape.
     
  11. Wes macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #11
    Somebody else had this problem before on panther I wonder if the same issue remains on Tiger.

     
  12. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #12
    I was gonna suggest an Archive and Install. I know its a pain, but it would be a quick fix. However, I don't think it would fix an icon corruption as it was suggested, so try that first. If not, do an Archive and Install.
     
  13. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #13
    I can't believe it even had to be pointed out. *shakes head*
     

Share This Page