Firefox won't load certain items??

Discussion in 'macOS' started by fjs08, Dec 2, 2006.

  1. fjs08 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #1
    Hi,
    Using OSX 10.4.8 and Firefox 2.0. I'm noticing that on certain pages, nothing loads. I bring up the same page on Safari and it loads without problems. What's up??
    thanks.

    Frank
     
  2. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
  3. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
  4. fjs08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #4
    Nothing other than a "stock" install and one link would be AMEX home page and
    http://www.thenorthface.com/

    It works on Firefox on my old TiBook, but not on my new Mac Book Pro.

    Frank
     
  5. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #5
    did u have adblock or flashblock extension installed?
     
  6. fjs08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #6
    >>did u have adblock or flashblock extension installed<,

    Only if it came with the program "stock" from their site. I've not added a thing. How can I tell if it may have come with it???

    Frank
     
  7. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
  8. fjs08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #8
    I see DOM Inspector and TalkBack. That's all that's there.

    Frank
     
  9. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #9
    ok
    1, clear cache and cookies and try again
    if problem persist, then
    2, backup your bookmark and password, then delete your firefox profile folder(not program folder)
     
  10. fjs08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #10
    >>clear cache and cookies and try again<,

    Where are they located??

    Thanks.

    Frank
     
  11. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
  12. fjs08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #12
    >>Clear Private data<<

    What all will this do??
    Should I back up anything, like my bazillion Bookmarks<g>??

    Frank
     
  13. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #13
    Don't worry, it brings up a dialogue where you can choose what it deletes...

    BTW: A relatively current backup of your Bookmarks are always a good idea to have... no matter what you're doing... ;)
     
  14. fjs08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #14
    Sounds like a good idea to back up the Bookmarks. Is there a specific file name to look for???

    Thanks.


    Frank
     
  15. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #15
    /Users/yourname/Library/Application Support/Firefox/Profiles/gibberish.default/bookmarks.html

    ...or just (in Firefox) use Bookmarks -> Organize Bookmarks... and then File -> Export... and save them to a safe location...
     
  16. fjs08 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #16
    Well, it didn't help. I tried to get to Nike.com and it wouldn't load. Did on Safari though. But I was able to backup my bookmarks<g>.

    Any other thoughts.

    Frank
     
  17. xli_ne macrumors 6502a

    xli_ne

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Location:
    Center of the Nation
    #17
    I have another firefox quirk.

    Time to time I wont be able to type anything into firefox. Not any text boxes, search bar or anything. It seems to do this first thing when I open the browser after my macbook has been closed. When I restart the browser it will work fine.


    anybody else have this problem or know of an idea to fix it.

    would a reinstall be the best idea?
     

Share This Page