Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sbauer

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 7, 2009
Baltimore, MD
Hi all,

I'm looking to get a laptop and I'm not sure which one would be a better fit. I'm a software/web developer so I'll be using apps for that (TextMate, Apache, MySQL, etc..). I'll also need to run a Windows VM for Visual Studio.

What would you recommend? MacBook or 15" MacBook Pro?

ceezy3000

macrumors 6502
Jan 10, 2009
The Valley!!
macbook, it can do pretty much everything now with the new graphics chip, and for what your doing you could of used the old intel gmax3100 and it wouldve been fine

Scottsdale

Suspended
Sep 19, 2008
U.S.A.
Depends on size of display you want.

For 13.3" is MacBook aluminum unibody or revB MacBook Air. The MBA costs more but is an amazing Mac. I own one and love it. Fastest Mac I have ever owned due to SSD. It's super portable but amazingly powerful.

Want a 15.4" buy a refurbished unibody MBP for $1699. Want a 17", you can buy a past generation for around same price - the new one will set you back more.

All the Mac notebooks are excellent computers. I love the portability of my new MBA, and I am glad I paid the extra money over the standard model for a 1.86 and SSD. I would not say any of the three Mac notebooks is a bad choice. All comes down to your preference as they all can do the job nicely.

Scepticalscribe

macrumors Haswell
Jul 29, 2008
In a coffee shop.
I agree that the new MB is a lovely machine, while the MBA is stunning if portability is your main need. However, from what you write, your needs seem to call for an excellent screen, and for that, and for performance and power, the MBP is still the best on offer.

Cheers and good luck

Demosthenes X

macrumors 68000
Oct 21, 2008