Folding on G5

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by TheFish, Sep 28, 2003.

  1. TheFish macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Location:
    The south, the deep south
    #1
    i was wondering if any of you are folding on a g5, and how much faster it is by comparison if you folded previously
     
  2. acj macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
  3. Powerbook G5 macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #3
    The last I heard, the folding client doesn't work with the G5, but perhaps it has been addressed. I heard that a G5 can rip 1 1/2 hour WUs for Seti, though.
     
  4. G4scott macrumors 68020

    G4scott

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #4
    Well, when we get a patch for the G5, we need someone to go to virginia tech, and setup their G5's to fold for team macrumors... I can see that thing churning out WU's by the minute... or every couple of seconds...
     
  5. G5orbust macrumors 65816

    G5orbust

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    #5
    damn, if these supercomputer builders knew what was right in the world, they would have folding setup already and we'd have a new cure for something every year or so.


    Seriously, they could make much more of an impact doing protein analysis than stupid number crunching and simulation.
     

Share This Page