forgot wireless router login/pass...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by washer, Dec 11, 2006.

  1. washer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    #1
    I have a setup including a cable modem, linksys, and iMac G5 downstairs, another linksys 802.11g router upstairs with my older iMac, and another iMac upstairs connected to the network with an airport card. I want to try and login to the main router downstairs to change some settings, but I forgot the login and password and can't find the scrap of paper the tech guy and I wrote it on. I have been trying this on and off for the past few months with no avail. Is there any way I can get in there? He used some software other than the linksys stuff, called Ambit. I know how to get around once I'm in there, but I can't get in so far... any help?
     
  2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    Have you tried the linksys defaults?

    Login: (blank)
    Password: admin​

    If that doesn't work you may want to try calling the tech company who set it up - they may always use the same login name & password.

    You could always reset the router by pressing the reset button (on the back of the unit), but this will erase your entire configuration, so it should only be used as a last resort.
     
  3. washer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    #3
    yea, unfortunatly it wasnt (blank)/admin
    I may have to call the guy... I don't think he's gonna remember, it was a while ago.

    So if i hit the rest button will it be the software he used (Ambit) or the factory default?
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    It should go to factory defaults as outlined in your user manual.
     
  5. davidg4781 macrumors 68000

    davidg4781

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    Alice, TX
    #5
    The default for Linksys routers, and maybe others is..

    Login: admin
    password: admin

    try that
     
  6. Savings macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    #6
    Try a soft reset of the linksys router. Should restore it to the factory defaults in the event that you changed the password. The software will probably restore to Ambit if you soft reset, since I don't believe that the ROM size on the Linksys routers is big enough to carry two firmwares.
     
  7. PYR0M310N macrumors 6502a

    PYR0M310N

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #7
    the default on mine is

    user: admin
    password: password
     
  8. washer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004

Share This Page