Front Row Exiting To Desktop

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ginner, Feb 18, 2006.

  1. ginner macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    #1
    Hi

    I got my new intel iMac two days ago and have since been using it to watch a lot of DivX encoded TV shows I've imported from my external hard drive. The majority it plays perfectly (great for lazily viewing in bed!) but when I try and navigate to certain folders instead of listing the files inside it will just exit to the desktop. So certain seasons of a TV show will play perfectly but the other seasons can only be accessed through Quicktime (which won't fullscreen because I've not paid for a pro upgrade). Any ideas on why it's acting this way and what I can do to fix it?

    Secondly, can I do anything to cause my own encoded files (not those downloaded from iTunes) to sort into the Music Videos category rather than appearing with the rest under Movies?

    Cheers.
     
  2. ginner thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    #2
    Lots of views and no replies. Am I the only person who's come across this problem?
     
  3. ginner thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    #3
    Converting all the avis to mp4 using isquint seems to have fixed it. Thanks for all the help on this one guys! :rolleyes:

    Front Row lists any folders in my Home-->Movies directory and also any imported into iTunes to transfer to my 5G ipod. All the files slow down browsing through the Front Row interface. What's the best way to avoid this duplication short of deleting them from iTunes after they've been transferred?
     
  4. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #4
    Just bear in mind that a lot of people might view your post and have no idea how to help and don't want to post simply saying "hey, sorry, but I have no idea how to help".

    My personal opinion of Front Row is that it is very, very immature and that most of the stuff you'd want it to do... it just can't do. It has no visible settings, and you sort of have to hack around to get it to do anything.

    In the case of your last question, my guess is that you'd need to delete the duplicate files, unless someone has a hacked solution to it. Sorry!
     
  5. ginner thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Yorkshire, England
    #5
    Yeah, that's why I posted my solution in here; if someone else has the same problem then hopefully this will help them. I can't believe I'm the only person this has affected though.

    When they release an updated Front Row do you think it will be available as a free download (perhaps through Software Update) or is it likely they'll want to charge for an upgrade? I'm unfamiliar with Apple's general business practices.
     
  6. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #6
    Thank you - many people don't, and I think it's great that you did. Helpful to the next person, as you said.
    It's free now (though bundled). I suspect it will always be free. Maybe - maybe - it'll be bundled with iLife, but I suspect it'll stay free for all iSight-enabled Macs.
     

Share This Page