G5 1.6 upgrade to Dual 2.5 Processor?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Velocity, Feb 13, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Kings Mountain, NC
    #1
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #2
    Not possible, the 1.6 GHz G5 MLB is single processor and has firmware that limits CPU speed to 1.6 GHz only, bus limited to 800 MHz only! All G5 have firmware set to recognize the speed they shipped as as the max speed, slower processors will work at their slower speed.

    To use those processors you would need an MLB that was produced to be 2.5 GHz or 2.7 GHz and to support an LCS.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Location:
    Virginia
    #3
    Posting because I am curious.

    Is there away to hack the firmware to recognize faster processors? Seems possible to me.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #4
    That part of the firmware is associated with the AD7174 SMU controllers, while technically possible to change I have never heard of anyone succeeding in doing it.

    Basically putting a faster processor than shipped on a G5 board will force it into safe mode. Safe mode is CPU frequency minimum and fans at full speed ( even after thermal calibration is run ).
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Kings Mountain, NC
    #5
    **sigh**

    In that case, I guess the 2.5 doolie is destined for ebay. Thanks a lot, guys!
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #6
    Your 1.6 only has a single socket on the logic board. So even if you could modify the firmware, it still physically won't work.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #7
    G5 and Mac Pro logic boards pay homage to Rube Goldberg.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Kings Mountain, NC
    #8
    How about Rube Goldberg with a lobotomy. I've been a Mac user since Day One, 1984, and it never ceases to amaze me HOW DIFFICULT it is to love Apple, with their dead-end upgrade paths and lack of support. It's like dating a dominatrix...You worship her, and she just keeps punishing you.

    :(
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #9
    I will say Apple and Steve jobs are very careful to describe Mac's as expandable as opposed to upgradeable.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Kings Mountain, NC
    #10
    Hey, how about this... Can I use the wireless card from my G4 PowerMac in the G5? If so, that'll at least be SOMETHING I don't have to worry about.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    #11
    If that was a G4 FW800 you're in luck, otherwise no.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Kings Mountain, NC
    #12
    Just wanted to do follow-up. The wireless card from my old G4 PowerMac works perfectly in the G5, has worked flawlessly for 2 months so far, no problems at all. Go figure.
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #13
    Outstanding metaphor, really. I spit all over my keyboard.

    And there's no reason that 802.11 card shouldn't have worked despite what one of the earlier posters said.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #14
    You could theoretically replace both the Motherboard and both the processors (from the same motherboard, in the same positions they were in). That would work. I just dont see this feasible unless you have two powermacs and one has a blown power supply and the other has a bad motherboard or cpu..
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Kings Mountain, NC
    #15
    Alas, I went ahead and sold the dual processor and am currently running the single processor in my G5. Interestingly, the single processor G5 runs at about the same speed and efficiency as did my old G4 dual processor, so I'm kind of right back where I started.
     
  16. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #16
    yea shame :( some dual G4's can feel very similar to the lower end g5's in day to day usage. having a second CPU with an advanced OS like OS X with great built in multi-processor and multithreading support can really make a difference.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Kings Mountain, NC
    #17
    On the up side, I sent this G5 to the shop recently — was having some screen-freeze issues — and the tech said my G5 was a RECALL from 2004! Wow, don't you love when that happens? Brand new motherboard, abso-stinkin-lutely free. Runs like a brand new 2004 Mac G5 now. :D
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #18
    You know it's funny. .. Macs were pretty much all upgradeable until the G5s. It's kind of disappointing that they made them so inflexible.
     
  19. macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #19
    Even if you could upgrade the processor(s) of a PowerMac G5, you'd have a very tough time doing so - I suspect very few of these processor chips are still made. And certainly none any faster than were originally made (unlike the G4 chips). I wonder how much of a stockpile Apple has.
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #20
    I don't imagine any are made. IBM had them made specially, based off the POWER4 processors they use in their high end servers, unlike Motorola, who manufactured the G3/G4 chips and also used them in embedded solutions, even after Apple stopped buying (hence availability of G3 chips scaling above 900 MHz, and G4s above 1.42 GHz).
     

Share This Page