Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jimsowden

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Sep 6, 2003
NY
My G5 is about a month old and it freezes sporatically throughout the day, always in Safari. I took it to the Apple Store after consulting phone support and they said they couldn't replicate the problem. It just ramdomly locks up, I tried a clean install twice but nothing. Since the guy couldn't make it freeze, I think it has something to do with the video card. He had a regular monitor and I have a Samsung Syncmaster Widescreen running at 1280x768 at 60Hz. Oh, its a single 1.6 witha gforce card and 256 ram. Its not the ram either because I switched em out and it didn't help. Please, someone I'm despirate!!!:(

Sun Baked

macrumors G5
May 19, 2002
Stop using Safari, for awhile. There's alway Mozilla, Netscape, and OmniWeb.

Although it might be another application (not browser related) causing problems while your using Safari it most likely a Safari helper app that doesn't like Panther yet.

jimsowden

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Sep 6, 2003
NY
Nah

I just put on Mozilla and about 5 minutes afterward guess what, a freeze.

Dont Hurt Me

macrumors 603
Dec 21, 2002
Yahooville S.C.
You buy a new G5 it shouldnt have any problems! anyways i was talking to a buddy of mine today that works at a Apple reseller and he has told me they have nothing but problems with the G5's, from the post i have seen here at Macrumors i would say Apple still has a little work to do. sorry your having problems jimsowden

blue&whiteman

macrumors 65816
Nov 30, 2003
the technology in the G5 towers is still in its infancy. not all the hardware bugs have been worked out yet. this is the price people pay for having to have the latest and fastest computer on the block.

Dont Hurt Me

macrumors 603
Dec 21, 2002
Yahooville S.C.