Get GPRS to work over Bluetooth?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Sesshi, Jun 21, 2006.

  1. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #1
    I have a few phones and I would like to get the Mac to talk via BT to them. I'm able to sync with them but am unable to use them as modems. Is there like a program I can buy which handles the details for me?
     
  2. regre7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #2
    I'm no expert, but I'd imagine bluetooth and GPRS run on different frequencies.
     
  3. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #3
    you can use your phone as a 'modem' over bluetooth. the cell will connect to the internet over gprs.
     
  4. mpw Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    #4
    What phone do you have? I connected my G3 iBook to the 'net via BT1.0 and GPRS m y g o d i t w a s s l o w !
     
  5. Gee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    You'll just need a modem script - this site http://www.taniwha.org.uk/ has all the required info and stuff.
     
  6. Sesshi thread starter macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #6
    I found Macronsoft's GPRS script generator. Am going to give this a try.
     
  7. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #7
    I'd got with Gee's suggestion since that site has most of the UK details that you need plus links to the modem scripts.

    I got mine working with my k750i after following that site's guidelines although admittedly, very, very slowly!
     
  8. Macnoviz macrumors 65816

    Macnoviz

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Roeselare, Belgium
    #8
    Isn't that an option when first connecting your phone?
    I selected it, but I don't have GPRS only my phone yet (its frikkin expensive, you know)
     
  9. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #9
    It is... but the modems built into OS X don't always work properly. The modem scripts at the site above make things a little easier.
     
  10. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #10
    It took me a couple of hours a couple of weeks back to get this running (for the London picknick). This is what I use on O2 (UK,contract):

    PPP Tab
    Service Provider: O2 GPRS
    Account Name: web
    Password: password
    Telephone Number: mobile.o2.co.uk
    PPP Options: everything turned off

    TCP/IP Tab
    Configure IPv4: Using PPP
    DNS Server: 192.113.200.200 192.113.200.201

    Proxies Tab
    Web Proxy: 193.113.200.195:8080

    Bluetooth Modem Tab
    Modem: Sony Ericsson GPRS CID 1 (script from here)
    Both check boxes below checked.

    If you use faster instead of web as the username you get a marginally faster connection!
     
  11. Sesshi thread starter macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #11
    Think I've sorted out out. Many thanks for the pointers.
     

Share This Page