Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mxulive

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 4, 2010
Canada
As most of you probably know a 2.13 GHz MBA requires you to shell out $300 for the 256 SSD and an additional $100 for the processor... ending up $400 more than a 1.86 GHz.

I have already made up my mind about getting 4 GBs of RAM and is now trying to decide on the processor. Given that I have absolutely no need for the additional SSD space, is $400 worth the 0.27 GHz difference?

I have researched this topic and in many other threads the overwhelming opinion was "no" (and probably more so in my case because I am blowing $300 for the pre-req SSD which i will never utilize).

However, according to a credible benchmark (can't remember the source for this but can dig it up if you guys really want it... I think it was Macworlds?), the 2.13 GHz performed "10%" faster overall than the 1.86 GHz.

Being a tech newbie, I have three questions:

1) how exactly does a 10% increase in "benchmark" performance transfer over to real life? (i.e. will I notice this difference at all doing things like web browsing, email, iTunes, Preview, Word, watching videos, which comprise 95% of my usage)

2) This is a more tech-related question... does the 10% increase in speed apply to everything you're doing, or does it only matter if the task you're trying to run requires high processing power? (i.e. 10% might be evident if you're using rendering software but will all of that power be throttled if you're just opening a web page?)

3) I plan on playing SC2 on low-medium settings. Will the additional 0.27 GHz of processing power improve gaming performance? Or is it really just more dependent on RAM and GPU...

Thanks guys!

alust2013

macrumors 601
Feb 6, 2010
On the fence
1. Of the uses you listed, you won't see any perceivable difference.