Good PHP editor on the Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by Damien, Feb 2, 2007.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Location:
    Canterbury
    #1
    I cannot find a good PHP editor on the mac. The key features would by syntax highlighting and autocomplete (similar to the way visual studio shows what can be done after you type something). Also lightweight, i have seen Zend and its a horrible design and very very slow. I need something light and mac-like?

    Does this lovely program not exist :(
     
  2. macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Location:
    Maine
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    #4
    I'll second that. Yeah, yeah, it costs money, but you'll end up using it for more that you thought. This is, bar none, the most used app on my MB (apart from Mail).
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Location:
    Lithuania
    #5
    That would be TextMate for me.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    Costs money, but Coda is a real nice web development tool.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    savar

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    District of Columbia
    #7
    I finally registered textmate. Yow. With the declining dollar (textmate's price is denominated in GBP), it was about $55 to register.

    Still, I thought it was well worth it. It's one of the best text editors that I have seen. (PSPad on Windows is my other favorite.)
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    elppa

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    #8
    [​IMG]

    PHP Studio.

    This is a specialist tool for php development. Haven't used it myself, but it looks nice and may be what you are after. You can download a free trial.

    Edit: There are limitations: It doesn't handle projects (i.e. more than one file). It also doesn't keep track of variables outside functions. Also (I know it's poor practice) but if you have inline javascript in your php file, it can't seem to tell the difference between php and javascript functions.
     

Share This Page