Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

siLLiLicious

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 28, 2005
Arlington, TX
Hi everyone!
My name is Brandon and I have enjoyed reading everyone's posts. I've learned a lot about Apple and now I'm ready to purchase a new Powerbook! :) At the current moment, I'm a broke college student (aren't we all?) and was curious as to how everyone paid for their wonderful machines?! Did you guys pay by credit card, the Apple Loan, etc?! Did you guys pay for your Apple all up front? (cause I KNOW that the best of the best owns Apples right? :)) I want to know what my options are regarding methods of payment. If anyone has suggestions or any advice really, it would be greatly appreciated! Thanks again and see ya around.

(Sorry if I posted this in the wrong area, I wasn't quite sure where to put this in)

Demon Hunter

macrumors 68020
Mar 30, 2004
Hi Brandon. :)

I'm also a college student... since I didn't have a credit card, I used my dads and then cut him a check, since debit cards don't let you kerplunk the account like that. :)

Basically... worked my ass off from March to September selling smoothies at my mall. It was nice to pay up front, but maybe a little scary seeing all that money gone. Put it on your homeowner's insurance or something as soon as you get it.

CanadaRAM

macrumors G5
This answer you won't want to hear: Cash.

I don't believe in paying exorbitant credit card and AppleLoan interest rates. 'Specially not when you are just starting out. One mistake and you can fubar your credit rating.

Maybe if you can find an interest free plan that DOESNT have an up front administrative fee*, AND you are 100% positive you can pay it within the interest free period (one day late and you get major interest for the whole thing- which is what the finance company is counting on of course)