Handbrake: Encoding widescreen to fullscreen?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by det2004, Aug 4, 2009.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    344
    #1
    Any suggestions for using the cropping features?

    Thanks for the help. :)
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,776
    #2
    From what I can recall about my rips, the black bars are not included in the video itself, but rather they are a product of the player. IE: The player puts black bars when in full screen to compensate for the differences in the aspect ratios between the video and the screen.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    boast

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    866
    Location:
    AZ
    #3
    you see the black bars in "picture settings" ?

    if its not automatically being cropped correctly, then tick custom and do it yourself.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    344
    #4
    I've tried that, but I can't seem to get it right...Does anyone have any settings that have worked well for them?
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    164
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #5
    Try setting the resolution to 640x480? You realize you're going to have to crop the picture to achieve this?
     

Share This Page