Handbrake: faac vs CoreAudio

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by ThePiratkapten, Jun 21, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    ThePiratkapten

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    #1
    Hi!

    I am converting some movies with Handbrake and wonder if there is a difference between "faac" and "CoreAudio" in the audio tab when using AAC. I think if the audio quality is better with one or the other (I will use 320kbit/s).

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #2
    Core Audio is waaaay better than faac. In fact in the nightlies now HB has dropped faac on the mac. Note: Core Audio is only available on the mac version of HB.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    ThePiratkapten

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    #3
    Okay, but can you hear the difference with a pair of good headphones? Also, why is Core Audio better?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    jayhawk11

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #4
    No, and because it's integrated into OS X (hence the "Core" name). Is there any particular reason why you aren't just sticking with a preset in Handbrake?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    ThePiratkapten

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2013
    #5
    Thanks for the clarification! (By the way, thank you dynaflash too!) I don't use the presets because I want to have full control over the settings and use more optimized settings for my needs. :)
     

Share This Page