Having trouble upgrading macbook hd

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by farqueue, Dec 3, 2006.

  1. farqueue macrumors 6502

    farqueue

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    #1
    Hi guys i just bought a HITACHI Travelstar 5K160 HTS541616J9SA00

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/CustratingReview.asp?item=N82E16822145113

    When i compare it with my original 60gb HD, its a little bit thinner because it does not have that extra metal casing with the white strip of paper on it.

    So i just plugged it in and also put in the os x install disc.

    When i try to install os x in the 'select a volume for os x" the drive doesnt show up.

    So my guess is that the drive is in FAT32 and os x cant read it.

    How can i use the OS X disc to reformat it to mac os x readable drive?

    I dont have any external 2.5 sata enclosures
     
  2. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Open the disk utility from the utilities menu in the installer. See if the drive is listed.
     
  3. farqueue thread starter macrumors 6502

    farqueue

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    #3
    :D
    Hi im a total os x noob. How do i do that?:confused: :D :eek:
     
  4. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Put the Mac OS X disk in, press C to boot from the CD, then open the disk on the desktop that comes up and find the utilities folder.
     
  5. farqueue thread starter macrumors 6502

    farqueue

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
  6. tsvb macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
  7. farqueue thread starter macrumors 6502

    farqueue

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    #7
    Yep reformated to macintosh journaled something
    now its checking dvd for installation :D
     
  8. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    Fantastic. Just ask if you need anything else the installation should go smoothly though.
     

Share This Page