Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Calatis

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 10, 2010
Hello,
I am new in Mac world. I am trying to benefit the advantage on 20 bit audio CD (HDCD). Can someone tell me if iTune knows how to read those extra 4 bits on HDCD? I connected my iMac to a stereo via Bluetooth and Wifi, right now I do not see anywhere anything saying I am playing HDCD, I think is playing just as a CD.

I know WPM does play, but you will need a 24 bit audio card.

Going to the next level, how about Super Audio CD?

Too bad iPod do not know anything about serious audio formats. It was made for a specific demographics, no offense, I have an Ipod too.

Thank you,

ReggaeFire

macrumors 6502
Mar 19, 2003
I don't think it will decode HDCD, and I'm certain it won't play the full quality SACD content. AFAIK the only computers that ever had that ability were a few Sony Vaio's that had built in SACD drives.

Bacong

macrumors 68030
Mar 7, 2009
Westland, Michigan
Hello,
I am new in Mac world. I am trying to benefit the advantage on 20 bit audio CD (HDCD). Can someone tell me if iTune knows how to read those extra 4 bits on HDCD? I connected my iMac to a stereo via Bluetooth and Wifi, right now I do not see anywhere anything saying I am playing HDCD, I think is playing just as a CD.

I know WPM does play, but you will need a 24 bit audio card.

Going to the next level, how about Super Audio CD?

Too bad iPod do not know anything about serious audio formats. It was made for a specific demographics, no offense, I have an Ipod too.

Thank you,

The best you can do is rip lossless, like I do.

mystikjoe

macrumors regular
Jan 29, 2010
The best you can do is rip lossless, like I do.

he's talking about playing it not ripping it!