Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

snh628

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 18, 2005
Hello! I have a 12" PB that Apple has agreed to replace (I've had many problems since July). They also said that I could apply the value of my 12" towards something else, so I'd pay $450 for a new Macbook. If you were me, what would you do? Would you swap out the 12" and get the new one or get the Macbook? I need it to last me through my comps, proposal and dissertation (so like 3-4 years).

I'm a doctoral student and my main applications are mail, Firefox or Safari, iTunes, MS Office, Adobe Acrobat reader (for articles) and Endnote (it interfaces with Word for my references). I also have a Treo which I synch with iCal and the Address book. I have an external display and an external ergonomic keyboard for long writing sessions.

Thanks in advance for your advice and help!

Seasought

macrumors 65816
Nov 3, 2005
snh628 said:
If you were me, what would you do? Would you swap out the 12" and get the new one or get the Macbook? I need it to last me through my comps, proposal and dissertation (so like 3-4 years).

I'm a doctoral student and my main applications are mail, Firefox or Safari, iTunes, MS Office, Adobe Acrobat reader (for articles) and Endnote (it interfaces with Word for my references). I also have a Treo which I synch with iCal and the Address book. I have an external display and an external ergonomic keyboard for long writing sessions.