Help! It man wants me to go PC

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by dyers78, Aug 18, 2006.

  1. dyers78 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    #1
    I am a graphic designer currently on a G4 (mirror door) system which is getting a bit out dated. Upon my request for system upgrades...memory, ext. hard drive, etc. etc. our IT manager mentioned just getting a new system. Sweet right? Then he says I want you to go windows.

    We are on a windows platform here at the office and he thinks it will be easier and cheaper to go Windows but looking at the software and price of a high end PC I don't think he is right?

    Anyways, I have been trying to keep up on the whole Intel running windows crap but my brain hurts from all the hoopla. Is anyone running a G5 with windows/how do you like it/what does it entail (extra software/price/function). I need some concret advice or I fear I am doomed to life of windows and I love my widgets!
     
  2. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #2
    You can't run Windows on a G5 Mac. You'll need an Intel Mac - they can all run Windows.

    Tell him to get stuffed.
     
  3. bokdol macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #3
    if your going to run wondows.. you need an intel mac. try to get a mac pro. the mac pro is in somecases cheaper then the same spec dell machine. not by much. but you can also argue you need then mac side to run compatiblity test on your files... hehe
     
  4. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #4
    If you're a graphic designer, you need to stay on a Mac especially if other people are sending you files. Tell your IT guy to wrap his head around OSX and stop being a Windows shill.

    Besides, think of the costs of replacing your font library and all your apps to run on Windows.

    And he's not right about the costs either...
     
  5. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #5
    A G5 will allow you to keep most of the software you have ... without an upgrade.

    However, running Virtual PC on it still sucks.

    ---

    A Mac Pro may require some software updates, anything running in classic must be updated.

    This machine is less expensive than a Workstation an should have no problem with Windows.

    It is basically a Intel s5000xvn workstation, and you cannot configure a Dell for less with the Mac Pro base specs.
     
  6. michaelrjohnson macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Location:
    54140
    #6
    Ditto.

    The cost of switching your software far outweighs the cost of a new machine...
     
  7. BenK01 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    #7
    Tell him to get you the new MacPro machine. Not only is the OS better than Windows, some configurations are $1,000 cheaper than a comparable Dell, too. It will run Windows XP, but why bother? Windows OS just isn't keeping up right now. You already have the software that will run on the Intel-based Mac (under Rosetta--assuming you are running OS X programs, not classic). Adobe will be out with universal binaries in the next few months. Rosetta + Xenon Mac is probably going to be as good as or faster than the G4 you now have. You might want to get one of the higher end graphics cards. This is a work tool for you, not a toy for writing memos.

    He's wrong that it will be easier for you, and the next time (or the first time) some worm gets into your office network and destroys a bunch of your files, it's going to be your backside, not his.
     
  8. dyers78 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    #8
    You say "as good". Is there a point to upgrade at all? Short and sweet is now a good time to buy a new machine? How does the powerPC based software run with Rosetta?
     
  9. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #9
    The barefeats report mentioned on this site's front page lists the speed of the Quad 3ghz Xeon vs the Quad 2.5ghz G5. In rosetta it is just as fast or slightly faster depending on the program. When running universal binaries the Intel Mac crushes the G5.
     
  10. FullmetalZ26 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    #10
    Most software will run just fine, with the conversion being transparent in the background. Processor-intensive software takes a performance hit, but I doubt it would be as noticeable with four 2.66GHz cores of a MacPro at your disposal ;)
     
  11. zim macrumors 65816

    zim

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    #11
    Just say.. so we would need all new software licenses for windows, how is this cheaper vs. buying upgrades to the ones we have..?

    I also agree with Blue Velvet, best to stay Mac for compatibility.
     
  12. michaelrjohnson macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Location:
    54140
    #12
    According to other statements/reports here on MR, Apps running in Rosetta are roughly equivalent to their previous speed. So there won't be a huge dent in the performance of your Adobe Apps. Once you can get your hands on the (yet) unreleased Universal Binary Adobe Creative Suite (CS3), your Mac Pro will blow your current performace out of the water... (based on what I've read)
     
  13. Silentwave macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    #13
    It runs great. Even Photoshop CS2, which issomewhat disappointing on say a macbook Pro performs admirably versus a dual or even quad G5!

    http://www.barefeats.com/quad06.html
     
  14. andiwm2003 macrumors 601

    andiwm2003

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #14
    since when does IT decide what computer you need? if you can show that you need a mac they have to make it work in the office enviroment. that's their job. your's is to design stuff.

    they just want to make their life easier at your expense. i have that discussion all the time. in the end they never have a problem to integrate OS X into the windows enviroment.
     
  15. playaj82 macrumors regular

    playaj82

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    Kingman, AZ
    #15
    Just remind your IT guy that along with performance improvements, the Mac will actually be less work.

    Integrating the Mac might take a little longer, but he won't have to constantly come up and service it like a PC workstation.

    Edit: A PC workstation running Windows XP
     
  16. matticus008 macrumors 68040

    matticus008

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #16
    These are all good reasons, but unless you work in a smaller office, you don't have to convince the IT person, fortunately. The accounting/purchasing office is the one that needs to be convinced, and printing out a list of the software you use with their retail prices is almost always enough evidence to allow you to keep your Mac.
     
  17. dyers78 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    #17
    the IT guy actually preferes Macs (so he says) but our entire office is PC based. I am no IT specialist so I can't say why he feel a PC will be better. Other than he is very difficult to work with.

    I am going after the intel powerMac or I'm keeping the G4. Does rosetta come with the new machine or is this a purchase? I am under the impression it comes preinstalled and runs in the BG.

    Is there any advantage to running windows on this system? From a tech POV.
    Thanksw for the input. I have trying to keep up on this stuff but it hard to get the right info from a magazine. i am more of a hands on guy
     
  18. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #18
    Rosetta is preinstalled with Intel versions of OS X. The advantage is being able to run OS X and Windows on one computer.
     
  19. matticus008 macrumors 68040

    matticus008

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #19
    Generally speaking, it's best to stick with a single platform. The lower-level support monkeys can have less training, and keeping software up to date is cheaper. But there's no technical reason they can't coexist.

    It comes with Tiger for Intel Macs, no purchase or configuration required.

    None. None of your software will work in Windows. It might help you get the Intel Mac if you explain that if the company ever does want to switch to Windows software, they won't have to buy another machine to do so. But there's no point in installing Windows if all of your software is Mac software.
     
  20. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #20
    Just write down what the cost of this move will be (an adequate computer, all the software you need, the cost of training - obviously you will need some Windows training, and you will need a lot of training on all the new software, right? plus all the problems that you might have because your old documents might not work with the new software), then ask him to get numbers about what the savings will be, also in writing.

    Lots of these things go away if you ask people to justify them in writing.
     
  21. Yvan256 macrumors 601

    Yvan256

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #21
    IT guy = not the boss of you

    The IT staff are looking out for their jobs. A computer that basically needs no tech support is no good because it shows the IT staff could be cut (in more than half) by switching everyone to a Mac (if it's possible).

    Don't look at the price tag of the computer. Look at the price tag of all your software and the downtime you'd need to get used to Windows. Also, what the others said is also true: you're better off using a Mac since you will run into fonts problems (and other similar problems) if all the other shops around you are using Macs.

    If it gets ugly, go directly to your boss and tell him that switching the whole place to OS X would allow to cut IT costs and downtimes (viruses, trojans). ;)
     

Share This Page