Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

UKnjb

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
May 23, 2005
London, UK
Hello. I am very new to videos and especially videos on Macs. What I need to do is both of the following: transfer my video (VCR) collection to DVD and also, maybe more importantly, record programmes from TV (to my VCR?) and transfer them to DVD. I want, in the second instance, to remove the few minutes before and after the main feature and to remove the advertisements. That is, edit the video? Is there specific software that allows video editing? Can I miss out the VCR stage of recording and go straight to my Mac? Can I edit the video.ts files (whatever they are) from DVDs? Am I being very stupid with these questions? Whatever, anybody's help would be much appreciated. And I hope you all had a good Christmas.

Lacero

macrumors 604
Jan 20, 2005
UKnjb said:
Am I being very stupid with these questions?
Why, most definitely! :p

Try [url="http://www.elgato.com/]Elgato EyeTV[/url]. It has much of what you're asking for in regards to recording off TV.

You, of course, can use iMovie for editing, DVDxDVpro for conversion of DVD .ts or .vob files to DV and the use of a firewire DV bridge such as a Canopus DVC100.

Here's to the Crazy Ones

UKnjb

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
May 23, 2005
London, UK
Thanks for your advice; it is much appreciated. Not sure that I have understood it all (particularly the "use of a firewire DV bridge such as a Canopus DVC100" - seems I might really be stupid after all, oh dear). But the Elgato tip looks as though it will be the whole answer to the TV part.
Whatever, I thank you for your time and I wish you a very Happy New Year - when it arrives.

lucab1982

macrumors member
Oct 8, 2003
London, England
Combining clips

I have just done one massive import from my camera into iMovie HD and have about 150 clips :confused: