Help Please... Sony HDR FX-1 --> MBP

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Nar1117, Mar 5, 2007.

  1. Nar1117 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #1
    Hey all, I'm having trouble importing video from a Sony HDR FX-1 HD camcorder onto my Macbook Pro.

    I am using iMovie, as I just want the raw video on my HDD.

    iMovie opens, and it detects the camera connected, but when I click 'import', the camera starts playing like it should, but not video appears on the computer screen. All I get is the blue VTR screen with the time stamp showing that the tape is playing. Is there something I'm doing wrong?

    iMovie also detects that the camera is HD, and adjusts the screen and preferences to match.

    I just dont see any clips appearing on the 'clip screen' when i click import. This is the first time I've imported HD video directly onto this computer, so I'm thinking theres some sort of setting i have to change, and its just not obvious to me.

    Any help would be much appreciated!

    Thanks.
     
  2. marioman38 macrumors 6502a

    marioman38

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    #2
    Lol, you're using a $3000 camera w/ iMovie :rolleyes:

    Srry, don't know whats wrong, the camera is supported...
     
  3. Nar1117 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #3
    Yes yes i know :D

    I just need to dump all the HD video onto my harddrive. iMovie seemed easiest.

    I read somehwere that you have to start the camera playback, and then click 'import' but that doesnt seem to want to work either.

    :confused:
     
  4. ppc_michael Guest

    ppc_michael

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    Make sure you have iMovie working in HDV, and also that your camera is sending an HDV signal, not DV. That is, make sure that in your camera's setup menu, you have the i.Link -> DV conversion turned off.

    I am jealous of your camera. I have the HDR-HC1 but it's just not as cool. :)
     
  5. Nar1117 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #5
    Ah yes, I found out last night by reading the manual (yeah, i know.) that you need to send HDV signal, and not DV, through the i.Link cable... Thanks though.

    And for the record, I'm jealous of this camera too, its not mine. Its my school's, but im really the only one who uses it. I dont know why they wont just let me have a $3k camera... seems like a no-brainer to me... :rolleyes: :D

    And also, for anyone who is wondering, 17:30 minutes of HD video takes up about 9 and some gigs. Thats a lot.
     
  6. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    That's because iMovie and FCE (AFAIK) don't have native HDV support so the HDV footage gets transcoded into AIC (Apple Intermediate Codec) which takes up more space (but is less CPU intensive) than HDV. Native HDV has similar data rates to DV which is about 13gigs/hr.


    Lethal
     
  7. ppc_michael Guest

    ppc_michael

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    If you can use Final Cut Pro somewhere, that same amount of footage would probably be around 2 gigs or something. Well I just made that up. But much smaller.
     
  8. Nar1117 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #8
    Are there any alternatives to Final Cut Express? I've looked at Avid, but thats a bit too expensive. I'm just looking for native HD editing.
     
  9. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #9
    Deadline March 19 To Get Final Cut Studio 5.1UB For $199

    If you move fast you can get Final Cut Studio including Motion 2, DVD Studio Pro 4 and Soundtrack Pro for only $199 above what you can find an old copy of FCP 4/4.5 or Motion 2 Upgrade or DVD SP 4 Upgrade. I don't want to have to explain it all so here's the link to the offer and if you search "Find More Posts By Multimedia" by clicking on my name I have made numerous posts about how to do this.

    Postmark Deadline is March 19

    Others here found old copies of FCP 4 for $200 or a Motion 2 Upgrade for $85. Point is if you really try hard you can get Final Cut Studio 5.1UB Commercial for all sorts of academic copies of the above for only $199 more. Good Luck.

    BTW That camera is obsolete and has been replaced by the FX7. It is missing HDMI Out which is a big deal if you know anything about the Intensity card.
     
  10. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #10
    Hey, it's only obsolete if it no long meets your needs. ;) And although I know you love the Intensity card I don't think very many people at MR need to capture direct-to-disk or send an HDMI signal from their Mac to an HDTV.


    Lethal
     
  11. discostar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #11
    did u ever try 2

    simply play that video back, before u click import? it sounds like you have not.
    the capture tool records just any signal receiving from your camcorder (if everything is setted up correctly). if your cam is in camera mode, you capture what comes through the lens. are you PLAYING BACK what´s stored on tape (in VTR-mode), even this will be captured. guess what you import, if there
    nothing´s playing back, but the blue VTR-standby-picture is available for iMovie? the timecode you see, indicates the duration of import the receiving signal (i hope you can understand my weak english, i´m from berlin, germany).
     

Share This Page