Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

RetiredInFl

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jul 7, 2008
FORMERLY NJ now FL
I have 40 years Win PC experience but maybe a year with MACs. To make a long story probably longer I just picked up a used MacBook Pro M3 for my grandson and am setting it up. Everything is easy-peasy except my network speeds.

Wife's iPhone 14 Pro gets 600-700Mbps 3 rooms away from router.
Galaxy S24 Ultra the same and more.
iPad Mini 6 a bit less but close.
Mac Mini S2 Pro getting 500+ Mbps on WiFI 1100-1200+ hard wired to router. I have Xfinity 1200 Mbps tier and th router has a 2.5G port.

The Macbook Pro M3 in question is barely getting 300Mbps on WIFI and even less when I connect a 2.5G Ethernet dongle.
Router says it is connected to the 5G band of the router but doesn't show the wifi type nor can I find it when using the Apple instructions to see if it is on Wifi6E.

All testing was done within 3 **FEET** of my Wifi6E router (Asus GTX11000 Pro)

Yes, I have rebooted, , "forgot" wiFi network & readded, power cycled laptop.

This laptop I ASSUME should be getting upward of 500-600Mbps and more on the wifi 6e connection literally 3 feet from the router and it's not even close ...... or should it?

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

RetiredInFl

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Jul 7, 2008
FORMERLY NJ now FL
"Option" click on the WiFi icon in menu bar.
That's what many Google results say but I have no "OPTION" option in the menu bar WIFI menu either in system/settings or clicking on the icon on the menu bar. I looked through every possible option that is related to WIFI. This is Sonoma 14.4 so maybe something has changed? This is what I see when I click on the WIFI icon and the screen on the left is the WIFI-SETTINGS screen (the same screen from the main SETTINGS wifi menu) then if go to "DETAILS" I just get the usual TCP IP, DNS etc etc info.

wifi.jpg