Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

DTphonehome

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Apr 4, 2003
NYC
Hey Everyone,
Just thought I'd give a shout-out to AppleCare. Gather 'round for the tale:

About 6 months ago, my iMac, which was previously whisper-quiet, started to get uppity. Frequently, for no reason at all, the fans would rev up like they were jet engines, straining to blast my iMac off the desk with the tremendous force of the exhaust. The rest of the time, it would hum along with a definitely noticeable fan whir. Now, I'm not a complainer, but when I'm studying, I MUST have complete silence. I can't listen to music or anything. So, to have this grating, whiny fan noise not two feet away while I'm in the midst of neuroanatomy or biochem was driving me up the wall. Sure, I could put my iMac into suspend mode, but why should I have to? It was silent when I got it, and I expected it to be that way until the very end of its time.

Enter AppleCare.

I wisely purchased the plan when I decided to go for a "Revision A" Apple product, which my iMac was. I ordered it the day it came out. So, I called Apple when it started to act up. They replaced my fans and logic board. No go. Then they did it again. No go. They did it yet another time. Each time, they sent out a technician to my apartment to do the repair. Each time, the fans would be silent for about 20 mins after booting, which was an improvement over the initial situation, but not good enough. I tend to leave my computer on for more than 20 mins at a time. I'm weird like that.