Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kappax12

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 8, 2010
so i'm new to mac, still learning, how do i maximize the windows whenever i open a program or safari. beside grabbing the corner.

gdeputy

macrumors 6502a
Jul 23, 2008
New York
so i'm new to mac, still learning, how do i maximize the windows whenever i open a program or safari. beside grabbing the corner.

Apple only will expand the window till you no longer need the horizontal scroll bar. At that point it displays as much width as the page needs, nothing more. You'll need to grab the corner to expand.

It was weird for me too, but actually makes sense.

Mechinyun

macrumors 6502
Jun 24, 2010
You cant really. However it will be a feature coming out in the next OSX version "lion". Apple made a point of this "new" feature when introducing it. :rolleyes:

TEG

macrumors 604
Jan 21, 2002
Langley, Washington
Apple doesn't really like full-screen (Maximized) windows, because, they want you to always have access to the desktop to do other things quickly. That does appear to be changing, but it is on an application to application thing.

The green button is your best bet, or get it to a size you like and your application should remember it and leave it that size.

TEG

BeyondtheTech

macrumors 68020
Jun 20, 2007
You cant really. However it will be a feature coming out in the next OSX version "lion". Apple made a point of this "new" feature when introducing it. :rolleyes:

As I understood it, Apple made it a point that many new apps should be going full-screen, iOS style. iPhoto '11 has done it, and the additional real estate is appreciated.

radu.grozescu

macrumors newbie
Sep 2, 2009

A commercial software, but even better than the Windows maximize because you can arrange program windows horizontally or vertically very quickly when you need to compare two files. Of course you can maximize them too :)