Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iPoster

macrumors regular
Original poster
I have seen it mentioned by other folders, but I have no idea where to begin. I imagine it's similar to building a home server, but I have never done that before either.

I'm asking because I have some old 'puter parts lying around doing nothing useful at the moment, that I thought I could build into something that would sit in a quiet corner of the house and fold.

Any suggestions? :confused:

chaos86

macrumors 65816
Sep 11, 2003
1) build computer with head
2) set it up to start a vnc server on startup so you can control it's screen from another computer, in case you want to do something on it without getting another screen out.
3) start it folding
4) decapitate

chaos86

macrumors 65816
Sep 11, 2003
iPoster said:
That easy? I thought I would be something more complicated...thanks for the help!

nope. headless computers are literally that- normal computers that have been beheaded. the only issue to overcome is how to manage it without a screen to look at (or presumably a keyboard or mouse to input with), and vnc does a great job of that.

thejadedmonkey

macrumors G3
May 28, 2005
Pennsylvania
Here's a question that's been bugging me for a while. If you have a headless PC, does it need a video card in it?

The way I see it, it shouldn't because there's no monitor attached to it, but at the same time, VNC outputs what is on the monitor, which is driven by a video card. I've always wondered this, and I'm too lazy to pull the video card from my comp....

chaos86

macrumors 65816
Sep 11, 2003
thejadedmonkey said:
does it need a video card in it?