How do you unlock the Sprint or Verizon iPhone 4S for use on AT&T and/or T-Mobile?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by princealfie, Dec 4, 2011.

  1. macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #1
    Any clue on the easiest method to unlock the Sprint/Verizon version of the iPhone 4S for use on the T-Mobile or AT&T network? I have Sprint on my work phone and T-Mobile for my personal line.
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #2
    You can't.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #3
    Okay I guess that I will have to settle for the unlocked GSM-only iPhone 4S... oh well.
     
  4. macrumors 604

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    Sprint was selling the phones unlocked on contract for about 2 months after launch. Their policy, now, is that they will unlock (by request) after X amount of time has passed since you have the phone. I am not sure what that timeframe is. I want to say 6 months, though don't quote me on that part.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #5
    How does one know if they have an unlocked Sprint iPhone?
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #6
    They will unlock only for international use, not for TMo/AT&T.
     
  7. macrumors 604

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #7
    Unlocked is unlocked. You WILL be able to use it in the states... So long as the phone isn't currently activated on Sprint's network. When asking for the unlock, I certainly don't recommend saying "Hey, I am jumping ship to AT&T", though!

    ----------

    You pop a sim in and see if it works! That's the easiest way, lol. There may be another way, in fact I am sure there is, but I just don't know it.
     
  8. macrumors 68030

    verwon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #8
    It's 90 days that your account must be in good standing for them to unlock it for you.

    Any 4S that was bought and activated before 11/11 is unlocked, those purchased/activated on 11/11, or after are locked.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Location:
    CA
    #9
    I'm not sure how it works for Sprint, but this is false for the Verizon iPhone 4S.

    The VZW iPhone 4S has an MNC/MCC restriction preventing use of US network SIMs, even if the phone is unlocked by Verizon. You can still use foreign SIMs and roam on AT&T/T-Mobile in the US, though.
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #10
    Can't say for Sprint, but on Verizon it appears this is not the case. All info I've found says that Verizon's unlock will allow only foreign SIMs. For example this tutorial here on MR:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1274057

     
  11. macrumors 604

    lordofthereef

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #11
    It seems you are correct, and I was not. From Sprint:

     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    #12
    Now that the 4S is jailbroken is it likely the Sprint and Verizon versions will be unlocked for domestic GSM networks?
     
  13. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    If we see an unlock for the 4S then I would assume that even the CDMA sold iphones would function with any GSM sim.
    But we gotta wait and see.
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    #14
    no no

    u cant different signa tmobile gms sprint verizon cdma
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #15
    What are you trying to say? lol
    Like other replies you posted, you are trying to say that 3G/3GS with iPad baseband can restore without cooking a custom FW?
     
  16. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #16
    Signa = signal
    Gms = gsm

    And you can all 4S incorporate a sim slot and the ability to use CDMA or GSM though Verizon and Sprint won't activate a att 4S on their network unlocked or not

    But AT&T couldn't give a ratsass they'll give anyone a sim card and if you've unlocked your Verizon or sprint 4s when the unlock becomes available you will be able to use it as AT&T or tmobile iPhone

    Go masflow sumwere else n only ta bout wha u kno daw kk it can use diff signa! Gsm
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    SAD*FACED*CLOWN

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #17
    the answer is no it won't work....a foreign sim possibly but then you'd be roaming...already confirmed this with AT&T they have stated to me that ANY iPhones operating on their network won't come from Sprint or Verizon...a foreign GSM iPhone that's unlocked YES
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    #18
    I bought a new sprint iphone 4s. I didn't activate it on the sprint network as thats when the carrier locked is placed on the phone. I inserted a t-mobile sim card and it came with the screen with a long message basically saying "sim card will not work, use another international sim" which means iphone is unlocked right? If i get a international sim card, put it in, activate phone via wifi and then after activation, pull that out and put in the t-mobile one, will it work using tmobile or still give same error?
     
  19. macrumors 68030

    verwon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #19
    The Sprint 4S is locked to Sprint and can only be unlocked for international use, after your account has been in good standing for 30 days....so no!
     
  20. macrumors Nehalem

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #20
    Like verwon said your iphone is locked to sprint and will never work with Tmobile USA.
    If it is unlocked its for outside the US and that's if you bought it any time before they started locking the GSM side of you requested Sprint to unlock it for international GSM use only.
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #21
    Applenberry claim to have an unlock for a CDMA 4S to work on local GSM networks, but they're currently getting the bugs out of it.
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    #22
    CDMA Carrier Unlock for 4s.

    The way I understood it, all the USA iPhone 4s phones use identical hardware and differ only by the firmware inside. Last I knew there were 4 iterations of firmware. Sprint, Verizon, TMobile and Apple. Due to agreements with Apple, the carrier specific versions will only work on their network domestically through a carrier lock with at least 2 settings. First, a stock device from AT&T, VZW or Sprint will only work on their networks domestically and internationally on the networks they have agreements with. Sprint and Verizon will partially unlock the carrier lock and allow for non-domestic GSM roaming using your own SIM card. This is not the same as having your phone unlocked for any SIM.

    The unlocked 4s, available thru Apple, has the most flexibility and can use any GSM carrier. I understand that both Sprint and Verizon have policies about allowing non-branded ESNs on their network with Sprint being most flexible and Verizon barring them all together.

    All that being said, it's been a while since I did any research and there might be updates in the future. Ultimately what I'd like to be able to do is use one device for both my Verizon and TMobile accounts rather than carry two cell phones... but I'm not holding my breath.
     
  23. macrumors 65816

    Arnezie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #23
    Ok isn't that the same thing people had already posted. Kinda redundant is my point but hey why not dig up old threads and sumerize all of them. :rolleyes:
     
  24. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #24
    This whole thread is redundant as are many on this site.
     
  25. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #25
    how is that even posble. both vrizon and sprint use cdma for there networks and t-moble and att use gsm cant have a vrizon phone on a att or t-moble phone. iphone 4s does not have both cdma and gsm cell chips in there hardware
     

Share This Page