Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wowoah

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 16, 2003
Berkeley, CA
Hey everyone, I have a question that I've been thinking about for a while, but haven't found a satisfactory conclusion to. I'm a student with lots of important files on my computer (as I'm sure everyone does) and I'm wondering how you guys backup your stuff? The best way I can think of is to get my hands on an 20GB firewire drive or so and just sync the drive on my laptop to that, which would allow me to keep virtually an identical copy of my important files at home while I take my laptop around. The only thing is that I can't seem to find a cheap 20GB drive anywhere.

Does anyone know where I can get a cheap 20GB drive?

OR

Does anyone have another method of backing up their files that you'd care to share with me? :)

Thanks a lot everyone!

Spock

macrumors 68040
Jan 6, 2002
Vulcan
I back up my files on my iPod it works pretty good and I have my files when ever I have my iPod.

P.S I have my personal files encryted in case my iPod is stolen.

tjwett

macrumors 68000
May 6, 2002
Brooklyn, NYC
I use Backup to keep important text files, docs, passwords, receipts, etc backed up onto my iDisk and I use a LaCie 80 Gig FireWire drive to keep a mirror image of my Home folder using the SilverKeeper app it comes with. It's working well for me right now.

IndyGopher

macrumors 6502a
Nov 3, 2001
Indianapolis, IN