How to add wireless to Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Lord Fluff, Feb 1, 2007.

  1. Lord Fluff macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    #1
    ...without sending it away to have a card fitted.

    I gather that no USB fob works reliably (have tried the D-link) and that you can't just buy an Airport Extreme internal card from the Apple Store.

    I currently have a D-Link router so I am wondering about a D-link ethernet bridge (maybe the 810) but are there better ways?

    Thanks
     
  2. Carniphage macrumors 68000

    Carniphage

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    #2
    Three options for ya.

    1.) Take your Mac to an Apple store for a "while U wait" upgrade.
    2.) Buy the Mac Pro Airport Extreme module online, and fit it yourself.
    3.) Use a wireless-ethernet bridge.

    C.
     
  3. Lord Fluff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    #3
    Can they fit it on the spot then? That could be the winner in that case, thanks. The cards are N compatible now arent they? I'd happily fit it myself but don't want to risk voiding the warranty
     
  4. Carniphage macrumors 68000

    Carniphage

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    #4
    For me, it took about an hour.
    I'd call first to make sure that they have stock, and have time to do an upgrade.

    Oh, and I'd arrange for someone to meet you at the loading dock with a trolley. Trust me, you don't want to be carrying a Mac Pro for any great distance.

    C.
     
  5. Lord Fluff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    #5
    How come the cards on the Apple Store claim not to be Mac Pro compatible though? Do they have some others 'under the counter' that are suitable?
     
  6. Carniphage macrumors 68000

    Carniphage

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    #6
    Pretty much.
    The cards on the online Apple Store are conventional cards that plug into the PCi slots or whatever. These are for G5s I guess.

    The Mac Pro cards are tiny modules that slot into a tiny slot on the motherboard with screws and antennas and stuff.

    C.
     
  7. Lord Fluff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    #7

    Now it all makes sense - great stuff Carniphage thanks. Are they about £30 too? Do they charge to install it?
     
  8. Carniphage macrumors 68000

    Carniphage

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Sheffield, England
    #8
    Yep.
    I got the bluetooth module, the airport module and installation all for about 70 quid.

    C.
     
  9. phuong macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #9
    just curious. why would you want wireless on a non-portable computer?
    bluetooth i can understand. but why wi-fi?
    cable management is the only reason i can think of.

    for me even with my mbp, i keep it plugged with ethernet cable whenever i can.. at least 'til i got wireless-n
     
  10. Lord Fluff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    #10
    It is a fair question. The reason is that the Pro is going in a loft where there is no chance of a phone or ethernet connection. I can get a good G signal up there so once I go N it should be just dandy.
     
  11. Gorion macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    #11
    I will be putting wireless on my Mac Pro next month. Since my cable modem is downstairs, and my Mac will be upstairs, the wireless would be useful for me. (I may not get the best signal, but its better than not having any internet.)
     
  12. bmat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    #12
    get BT why you're at it

    The whole thing runs about $70 in the US - airport, BT, and installation. Some apple stores charge for the installation, others view it as part of the price, btw.

    Finally, once they're done, check the wiring of the antennas - very easy, you can just see it when you open the mac pro. Apple is still messing them up, and misconnection so you have limited Airport and BT range. The first time they did it for me, they didn't even connect the wires (idiots - should lose the genius t-shirt for a month). The second time, they connected them incorrectly.
     

Share This Page