How to assign F5 and F6 keys on Macbook?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Corbin3, Feb 27, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #1
    So more specifically,

    I want to assign the F5 and F6 keys on my Macbook to work as 'Page Up' and 'Page Down'.

    I'm not sure if it is possible to do this for all applications...If it's not, I would just want to use them in Firefox.

    I tried system preferences > keyboard and mouse > keyboard shortcuts...but had no luck..I don't know what menu command to enter when I create my own shortcut..I can't find page up or down in the menu for Firefox?

    Anyone know how I can make this work?

    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    ZiggyPastorius

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Berklee College of Music
    #2
    Well, I'm not sure about assigning the keys (though I'd kind of like to know, too), but, you can use page up and page down with Fn + (I think) up and down arrow keys. And I believe left and right + fn are home and end.

    By the way, ditch crap-fox. Get Opera.
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #3
    Is Opera really any good? I think I may have to give it a try! I do like firefox, but hate IE and Safari!!

    Is Opera free? And what makes it so good? :D
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    ZiggyPastorius

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Berklee College of Music
    #4
    Yeah, Opera is free. Opera was one of the first browsers (apparently, there were a few not-mainstream browsers years before that never really implemented well) to use the tabbed interface, and in my opinion, has one of the best user interfaces out there. It's one of the fastest in my experience, was the first to implement mouse gestures successfully (only firefox has managed to do this) and is still way ahead of Firefox in that department. They have some cool features (which I'm not sure if other browsers have, probably..) like page zooming, and an integrated download manager. It's also the most powerful and succesful browser on smartphones, (the wii), PDAs, et cetera. You can also use almost everything in Opera with only the keyboard if needed.

    There's also a lot of stuff that I can't really explain as well as some sites/people. Check out Wikipedia or the internet if you really want some in-depth information. This is just stuff off the top of my head.

    The short answer is: Opera is the best. :D

    Also a good place to check http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_web_browsers
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #5
    Just downloaded it now, i'm loving gestures!! Will give it a good test and see what I think after a week or so. I must admit, I like the idea of an inbuilt torrent download thingy!

    Cheers for the advice, Opera is looking good :)
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    ZiggyPastorius

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Berklee College of Music
    #6
    Hope you like it :p

    I'm what they call an "Opera fanboy,"

    haha. Could be shown by the fact that I reference it as the "Apple of Browsers."
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Kalafut

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    pocatello
    #7
    don't go to "keyboard" go to keyboard shortcuts" then click on the "+" to add a shortcut . btw safari for mac, firefox for windows , thats the way i like it . ohh and Opra for Wii!
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    #8
    Use a program called Functionflip, http://kevingessner.com/frog/projects/functionflip/

    I just tried it right now and it works.
    Install the program and then set the keyboard as the function keys F1, F2, etc. as default. Adjust the settings in functionflip so that the keys you want to use as the "special keys" are enabled. So I've left F5 and F6 empty, so they remain as F5 and F6. Then go to keyboard shortcuts in Sys Pref. and assign F5 and F6 as desired.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    donkey96

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #9
    ditch crap opera

    Get Google Chrome :)
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    #10
    macbook 5 key broken

    Today my macbook keyboard suddenly had two keys stop working, number 5 and left command - but everything works with remote keyboard so it's not software. Can I assign FN 5 to print out a number 5 and if so, how? ThankX ahead of time?
    :rolleyes:

     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    #11
    FunctionFlip! Yes!
     

Share This Page