How to format a RAID to be sold?

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by Siderz, Apr 4, 2013.

  1. Siderz
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #1
    I'm selling my LaCie 240GB Thunderbolt SSD RAID, and I need help with formatting it...since I've never formatted a RAID before.

    I'm assuming it's as simple as formatting a HDD?

    I also want to zero the drive.

    OSX ML 10.8.3.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Un-RAID it and format the individual SSDs via Disk Utility and use the Security Options button in the ERASE section to ZERO OUT the SSDs.

    The buyer can then create its own RAID.
     
  3. Siderz
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #3
    How do un-RAID?

    And I'd rather sell it as a RAID otherwise the box is a bit deceiving/makes it a bit easier for the buyer. RAID0, that is.
     
  4. simsaladimbamba
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    If it is a RAID created in Mac OS X, go to Disk Utility and select the RAID and then delete it.
    But as you an also use the ERASE tab when the RAID is active, you select the RAID, go to the ERASE tab, then click the SECURITY OPTIONS button and then ZERO OUT.

    More help with creating RAIDS in Disk Utility.
     
  5. Biff...
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Biff...

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA.
    #5
    Good info, just bought a NAS and was wondering how to create a RAID. Thx
     
  6. Siderz
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #6
    The security options button is greyed out :S
     

    Attached Files:

  7. bradl
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    bradl

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #7
    Good rule of thumb: If you value your data, do not use RAID 0.

    RAID 0 stripes the disks together, which will give you the maximum amount of disk space available. However, if their is a single bad block in that stripe, or there is a bad disk, you lose all of the data in that RAID, as RAID 0 treats the whole thing as one huge drive.

    Depending on how many drives you are going to use, RAID 1, RAID 5, or RAID 10 will be your best bet.

    BL.
     
  8. simsaladimbamba
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    Then delete the RAID under the RAID tab when the RAID is selected on the left side. I currently do not have a RAID in front of me, thus I cannot show it to you with screenshots.
     
  9. Siderz
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #9
    Yeah, I already deleted them.
     
  10. Siderz
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #10
    Upon searching around a bit, it appears you can't actually zero an SSD on OSX.

    Not surprised, I've heard how it shortens the life of the SSD and what not.

    ----------

    Looks like this answers any security concerns.

    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4074706
     
  11. simsaladimbamba
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #11
    Good to know, as I surely did not know that before. Thanks.
     

Share This Page