How to get Mac os X 10.3.9 on old ruby iMac G3 without a dvd drive ????

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by DRewPi, Sep 15, 2006.

  1. DRewPi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    #1
    Hey sup ???
    I could surely take a litle help .....
    I got an old ruby iMac 450mhz g3 with some 192mo of ram and looking to upgrade from 9.1 to 10.3.9 but i got a litle problem it ain't got a dvd drive !!!!:mad: !!!! and I think the cd install for 10.3 is a dvd right ???? so what should i do ??? what is the solution ????
    Can i try to find an external dvd drive ???? is that the only way ???

    Thanks for helping me out ..... :)
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. DRewPi thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    #3
    oK that sounds good !!!!

    But are the new firewire dvd drives recognize by mac os 9.1 ???
    that is where i am not really sure of myself ??? :confused:
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    A FireWire Drive is a FireWire drive. You might not be able to burn a DVD using the drive but it'll mount DVD discs.
     
  5. strider42 macrumors 65816

    strider42

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    #5
    I thought retail copies of Os X didn't come on DVD until 10.4, though I could be wrong.
     
  6. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
  7. beatzfreak macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Yeah I still have my Panther disc and it's a CD, no need for a DVD drive.
     
  8. DRewPi thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    #8
    OK I'll try again ... on the imac

    It seems to me it doesnt want to boot up with the cd from panther !!!! it's weird, i old the "c" key down when i start it up... and the imac keeps on ejecting the cd each time I try ....

    Am doing something wrong ????

    Thx for helping .... ;)
     
  9. DRewPi thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    #9
    I think i found the solution ...

    I found this on a site :

    http://lowendmac.com/imacs/2001-600.html

    u got to first upgrade the firmware ... and it should be all good.... !!!

    i'll try and tell u if it works ..... :) ;)
     
  10. DRewPi thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    #10
    The thing is ....

    Acually the disc where i got Panther on aka 10.3 build of mac os x is a DVD format.

    I ain't got a dvd drive in the old g3, so where actually could i find a external dvd drive with firewire that works out and will be recognized by mac os 9.1 ??? that is pretty tough to find something like that is our days i guess ...!

    If any of you guys can help out .... that would be cool ... thx ... ;)
     
  11. spinne1 macrumors 6502a

    spinne1

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Hermitage, TN USA (near Nashville)
    #11
    I'm fairly certain that you cannot boot from an external firewire DVD drive on an iMac G3. I also don't believe Panther was released on DVD, but I could be wrong. Open up your iMac, inspect the CD drive and buy an identical sized DVD drive that would fit (but check Google for compatibility before you buy), and then put it into your iMac. You could also just buy Tiger or Panther on ebay for cheap ($40-$60).

    EDIT: took out reference to SCSI drive
     
  12. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #12
    You really aught to get more ram or you're going to be sorely disappointed in the performance of that computer. It uses standard PC100 or PC133 ram that you can find anywhere cheap.

    There are no SCSI ports on any iMac, whoever said that.

    If you have access to a G3 or G4 tower, you can install Tiger or Panther or whatever on that, then put the hard drive into the iMac.
     
  13. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #13
    Panther came on a DVD or a few CDs. I happen to have gotten the CDs, which is better, IMO.

    I would say your best bet is to buy a cheap copy of Panther on CD media and just install it with what you've got. Your amount of RAM should run it, but if you're using it full time you'll definitely want more RAM.
     

Share This Page