How to make the thumb button on mouse go "back"

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by micsaund, Jul 19, 2004.

  1. micsaund macrumors 6502

    micsaund

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #1
    Hi,

    I've connected a Logitech Mouseman to my PB15 and the mouse has a thumb button. I'd like the thumb button to go "back" when in a browser (as it does in Winbloze), but even after installing the Logitech Control Panel/driver package, I can only get the button to single/double/triple/toggle click (in the LCP).

    So, I figure that one of you has already adressed this issue and perhaps knows of some cool tweak or little freeware thing I can download which would make the button do something more useful than what the rest of the buttons already do :confused:

    Thanks!
    Mike
     
  2. Jalexster macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
  3. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #3
    Make sure you remove the logitech drivers before installing Overdrive though.
     
  4. slughead macrumors 68030

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #4
    Actually all you have to do is tell the logitech drivers to do a keystroke, then have it be cmd+[ (or maybe left arrow).

    If you don't have that option, upgrade your drivers.

    I have mine as such:
    left click = regular click
    middle click = option click
    right click = control click
    thumb button = command click

    Great for copying things (opt+click) or opening links in new tabs (cmd+click).
     
  5. micsaund thread starter macrumors 6502

    micsaund

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #5
    That's what I'd like to do, but the drivers don't offer that option to me (I just downloaded them Sunday night or whenever I posted this). I'm at work, so I cannot get the version info, but basically, when I went to configure the thumb button, there were only 4 radio buttons available for me to choose (doing things like "single click" "double click", etc.) I didn't see a "keystroke" option, although that's what I was looking for. :(

    Maybe the drivers are "smart" and are punishing me for using an "old" mouse instead of upgrading to the latest/greatest.

    Mike
     
  6. micsaund thread starter macrumors 6502

    micsaund

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #6
    I figured this out last night. In the Logitech drivers, next to the list of buttons you can configure (well, not "next to" but on the very right end) there is a little symbol that I didn't spot on my first attempt. This symbol opens a drop-down menu with all kinds of selections in it, including the keystroke option I needed. Previously, I was just selecting the button to edit and hitting the (more obvious) "Advanced" button, which only has the options for whatever you've selected via the symbol thingy (in my case, the button was set to "click" so the advanced options were single click, double click, triple click, etc.)

    Just FYI in case anyone else out there is trying to use the Logitech drivers and doesn't notice the symbols way over on the right of each button selection in the GUI.

    Mike
     
  7. Phatpat macrumors 6502a

    Phatpat

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #7
    On a related note...my thumb button goes back and I don't want it to. I'm using an MX900. I installed usb overdrive and uninstalled, which may have caused it. I have Mouse Buttons 4,5,6 set to expose in system prefs, but that doesn't work any more. Any ideas?
     

Share This Page