Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ARFIRST

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 24, 2012
Hello!

I'm new to programming. I been reading a lot and practicing but I'm still in the learning phase.

This is basically a Cocoa question (not iOS), I don't know if I should post this question here, if not please let me know a Cocoa Forum that I could go to.

Basically I have 1 main window, when I click a Button there a second window opens. I got that to work but I'm unable to close the first window.

Here's the code that I have that it works to open the second window:

Code:
- (IBAction)showBflag:(id)sender {

if (!bflagControl) {
        bflagControl = [[ bflagController alloc] initWithWindowNibName:@"bflag"];

}

[bflagControl showWindow:self];

}
bflagcontroller is a class that I made that controls the xib file for the second window.

One thing that I tried (I tried several solutions!) was to instead of closing, just to reopen the first window so when I click on a button on the first window the second window opens and the first window reopens too, that works! So I said I should be able to replace the "showWindow" command...? is that what you call it? Well, I thought I should be able to replace the showWindow with something like "hideWindow" but that didn't work.

Here is what I tried:

Code:

if (!bflagControl) {
        menuControl = [[ menuController alloc] initWithWindowNibName:@"MainMenu"];

}

[menuControl showWindow:self];

}

This works but instead of "showWindow" I think I should be able to use something like "hideWindow" (for the main menu xib)

My header file just in case is:
Code:
#import <Cocoa/Cocoa.h>
@class bflagController;

@interface menuController : NSWindowController {
@private
bflagController *bflagControl;

}
- (IBAction)showBflag:(id)sender;

@end

Thanks for the help guys! Hope you can help me or point me in the right direction!

----------

I fixed it!