Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

manman

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 18, 2008
i'm trying to set the background of a custom UITableViewCell to transparent so you can only see the control inside of it, but I can't get it to work

I've tried setting the opaque property to NO, as well as setting the backgroundView backgroundColor to clearColor, but neither have worked for me so far. Is there another way to do this?

Thanks

supertoto

macrumors newbie
Jul 29, 2008
Mark this thread!:D

I also have the same problem, after I read the guide, now I have changed my design to meet the UI design principles.

Maybe, change your design or reconsider your design is much easier way to go. (Just from my perspective)

manman

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 18, 2008
i'm very new to a lot of this, so I'm willing to try anything that works. I just don't know what alternate design 'the guide' recommends! :p thanks for your response though

dejo

Moderator emeritus
Sep 2, 2004
The Centennial State
i'm trying to set the background of a custom UITableViewCell to transparent so you can only see the control inside of it, but I can't get it to work
What do you mean the control is "inside" of the table cell? Are you adding the control into the cell in Interface Builder or through the code?

manman

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 18, 2008
Not only do you need to set the background color of the cell to clearColor, you need to make sure all of your subviews are clear as well.

Thanks for the reply, I'll give it a shot. My subview is at the origin of the cell and I set the height/width before setting it as a subview, but I think I read somewhere that the cell will override that. Does the cell make it's view take up the full frame of the cell by default? Otherwise I would have thought that setting the cell background transparent would at least make /part/ of the cell transparent..

to dejo: