how to tranfer

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Wheelchair, Apr 1, 2006.

  1. Wheelchair macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #1
    What is the best way to transfer the hardrive from my old Mac to a new one. I want to keep my account information from old to the new one. Hope to be able to not have to reload all the codes to get into programs I own. Have a lot of art programs and a few games... major nightmare if I go in and reload all :eek:

    Any help/hints
     
  2. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #2
    Easy. Go to Apps/Utilies/ and use the "migration utility". I've never done this, but I believe it does exactly what you want. Read about it first.
     
  3. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
  4. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #4
    Your best shot might be Migration Assistant, I think there's an option to move all applications as well as data and settings (but I'm not 100% sure). Link to more info.

    Edit: Way too slow... :eek: ;)
     
  5. Wheelchair thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #5
    Migration Assistant not in my current Mac G5... will it come with my new Mac? Or can I download it
     
  6. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #6
    It's in Tiger - so it should be on your new Mac. Have a firewire cable handy when you're setting up your new Mac. At a point in the process, it will ask you if you have an old Mac that you want to transfer stuff from.

    And it should bring over all your settings and apps
     
  7. Wheelchair thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #7
    Outstanding! you guys help big time :D Ok Mac store here WC comes:D
     

Share This Page