Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

steviedee

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 21, 2006
hey everyone, im a uni student doin design atm, an i wana buy a ibook(not macbook)

ive been lookin around, and the best deal so far seems to be at domayne, for a 14inch wit pretty descent specs for about $1300AUD. (anyone seen this for cheaper pls tell)

however, i think that lappy may be too goo for what i need to do.

id like a 12" screen, as i prefer smaller laptops, and i will need to use the computer predominantly for university work

so it will need to run rhino,autocad, solidworks, office and photoshop...

so whats a good ibook to get that will support those programs nicely, will 800-900Mhz be sufficient? as i would like this to cost around $700-800 AUD

any advice would be helpful, thnx

desired ibook
-------------
60gb hard drive
any computer speed that will run the programs i want
12" screen
dvdrw
G4(maybe G3)

crees!

macrumors 68020
Jun 14, 2003
MD/VA/DC
Personally I don't think the performance will be what you're looking for, if possible for some of the apps. I'd recommend a "Pro" machine. Or PowerBook if you're stick with PPC.

EDIT: Are all your apps Mac based?

Sammis89

macrumors regular
May 30, 2005
For some reason i feel like there isn't a version of AutoCad for Mac... there may be another CAD program, but if you need to be using AutoCad, i dont think a mac is the right way to go...

Although it kills me to say that...

Suspended
Dec 27, 2003
No AutoCAD

No AutoCAD for Macs.

I really think you should look into getting a Macbook. An iBook will be able to handle those programs okay, but nothing near day-to-day, prosumer level performance.

chaosbunny

macrumors 68020