Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

selloutvixen

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 28, 2003
Connecticut, USA
I'm going to be in the market for a new Mac soon. I'm moving out of state and must return my borrowed windows machine.

I've been debating over an iMac and an iBook (12") for a few months now, and continue to be undecided. Here's my POV:

iBook
pros: portable, airport built-in, looks nice, cheaper
cons: slower

iMac
pros: faster, bigger screen, G5
cons: I HATE HOW IT LOOKS, not portable, no built-in airport, more expensive

Please help sway me! :eek:

mariahlullaby

macrumors 6502a
Jan 19, 2005
NYC
Do you need the portability? If you NEED it, I'd get the iBook or maybe even the PB for the Superdrive.

For only $200 more you can get a 17" iMac with a faster/more efficient G5, nice screen, mouse, keyboard, etc. And it does come with airport. Better graphics card and VRAM, better base ram, FASTER...

macbaseball

macrumors 6502a
Feb 27, 2005
Northern California
selloutvixen said:
I'm going to be in the market for a new Mac soon. I'm moving out of state and must return my borrowed windows machine.

I've been debating over an iMac and an iBook (12") for a few months now, and continue to be undecided. Here's my POV:

iBook
pros: portable, airport built-in, looks nice, cheaper
cons: slower

iMac
pros: faster, bigger screen, G5
cons: I HATE HOW IT LOOKS, not portable, no built-in airport, more expensive

Please help sway me! :eek:

I disagree on the looks of the iBook. In my opinion the Powerbook is a much better looking mahcine. Anyways, I just a question of whether you need the portability or not. There are a lot of threads with people contemplating the same thing. It's a tough question. I got a Powerbook because I thought I would need the portability, but I don't. Now I wish I had a Dual 2.0 Power Mac ...

selloutvixen

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 28, 2003
Connecticut, USA