Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

yzeater

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 19, 2002
Hey Guys-
My name is Stephen and I'm new to this world. I've always used PC's except for Apple IIGS's in fifth grade. So...what do I need to know? Can you help me with the basics? Any information will do. I'm getting a Powerbook G4 500, should it be substantially faster than my Hewlett Packard 500mhz 64mb ram computer? What can / should I expect? I know I ask a lot of questions, but...I'm a newbie! Thanks a lot
-Stephen

beatle888

macrumors 68000
Feb 3, 2002
before you purchase your Mac why don't you
tell us what your going to use it for, what you
think you'd like to dable in and what you expect
it to do. that way everyone here can par you
up with a nice system.

also list the software that you need and want
to run. that way we can tell you if there is a
version that runs in osx.

as far as what you need to know. well:
• if your going to go osx then get jaguar.
• you'll want ATLEAST 256mb of ram.
• make sure the person your buying the
computer from has all the CD's originaly
shipped with the computer/if they say it has
OSX jaguar on it it's not going to do yo any
• a lot of people that don't need to use
graphics applications find the ibook a wonderful laptop
• dont buy from ebay unless you know what too expect (pictures from every angle and get
in writing that its in perfect condition)
• http://www.versiontracker.com for updates
and freeware
• http://www.macaddict.com for fun
• reformat the harddrive once you get your
computer ( Im assuming it's gonna be used?)
and do a reinstall of jaguar.
• the combo drives in laptops are slow just to
let you know.
• maybe since your knew to the mac you could
get an easy to use reference book on the os
and how it is organized.

but most of all talk to everybody here about
what you need your mac to do BEFORE you
buy. your choice of hardware has me a little