Imac hibernate and unplug?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by vcastrejont, Dec 27, 2012.

  1. vcastrejont
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    #1
    Hi,

    Its is possible to put the new iMac on hibernation and unplug the powerd cord so I can move it to other place without turn it off and resume my work later ?

    I come from windows where that is possible but I dont know if MacOS "sleep"is safe for unplug power

    thanks
     
  2. GGJstudios
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    No, as the iMac has no battery, as soon as you unplug it, it shuts down.
     
  3. sounddesigner
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #3
    Hes right also would even if it did like windows why would u not turn it off to move it since that would be safer anyways since desktops are not suppose to be unplugged like a laptop
     
  4. MDJCM
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    MDJCM

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Location:
    UK, South
    #4
    Actually, if there is a hibernate mode that writes the RAM data to the HDD (which there is), I don't see why this is not possible.
     
  5. GGJstudios
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    Your answer lies in post #2, which was posted almost 3 years ago.
     
  6. m85476585
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #6
    I know that I can make my Macbook Pro hibernate so that I can take the battery out and unplug power. It works just like Windows hibernate, but better because it's a Mac. I don't know if it will still work on new Macs or new OS X, but I see no reason why not.

    See here:
    http://apple.stackexchange.com/questions/126669/how-to-add-hibernate-mode-to-macbook-pro
    Here's some info specific to iMacs:
    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4931350?start=0&tstart=0
    And specific to El Cap:
    http://www.idelta.info/archives/some-hidden-changes-in-os-x-el-capitan/

    By default sleep on desktop Macs requires power to maintain RAM. You can enable Safe Sleep which keeps everything in RAM for fast resuming, but saves a copy to the disk just in case. I don't see any reason not to do this, except there will always be a file on the disk equal to the size of RAM. You might not want to do it on a SSD, but I've had it enabled on my SSD for years. Once it's done saving safe sleep data, you can unplug the power.

    I don't know how this would work with Power Nap. That periodically turns on the computer in a low power state without the display or fans on to run maintenance tasks. If you unplug it during that, you would probably lose data. I assume if you unplug it right after it hibernates then power nap won't run.

    I use a dock widget called Deep Sleep that makes my mac hibernate immediately when I click on it. I do this when I travel because otherwise normal sleep mode slowly drains the battery. Power management wasn't that good in 2008, you know.
    https://www.apple.com/downloads/dashboard/status/deepsleep.html
    I have no idea if this still works with El Cap.

    Sorry if any of this is outdated. I'm still using a Macbook Pro 4,1 with 10.6.8.
     
  7. MDJCM
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    MDJCM

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Location:
    UK, South
    #7
    Post #2 says it won't work.

    I'm saying it does work.

    If you download an app called Deep Sleep, you can tell an iMac to hibernate, then unplug it, move it to another room, switch it on again and it'll restore your session.
     

Share This Page