Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

celebrian23

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Mar 12, 2006
Under the sun
I'd like to buy a new digital camera. Mine is just a very simple consumer camera that I outgrew long ago. I believe it's called a kodak c300. It's 3.2 mp. I'd like a camera that has a lot more options and is more geared towards someone who wants to learn more about the technical aspects of photography. I'm not in a spot to buy it now, but that's why I'm asking for suggestions now- so I have plenty of time to research it before I make the plunge. I'd like this to be a camera I can use for 3 or 4 years. But I'm not a complete beginner either to photography- I know how to use SLR cameras, though those are obviously more expensive than I'd pay for an advanced novice/intermediate user. My camera also doesn't have audio capabilities- I think most come with this now, but I'd like to be able to tape video w/ audio- I don't care how poor it is really in that area. Any more information you might need? Sorry for the long and rambling post

EDIT: I will spend up to $550

annk

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 18, 2004
Somewhere over the rainbow
I have very little experience with different cameras, but I've had a Canon S2 IS for a year, and can recommend it. It has both pre-programed scenes for when you just want to take snapshots, as well as creative programs where you have a lot of options and control. The screen can be moved around to different angles, a feature that's proved useful many times.

It also takes video, with very good sound and resolution. When I was buying it, the salesman kept talking about the video capabilites, and I kept saying I didn't care, that I already have a video camera, but that function really is nice now and then, when you just want a short clip.

I paid 500 USD last summer, and since then, a new model - S3 IS - has come out.

D34th

macrumors regular
Apr 14, 2006