Initial internet set up?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by mattopotamus, Dec 9, 2012.

  1. macrumors G3

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #1
    So I am moving on saturday and switched to charter. I have an airport express, an ipad, and the airport utility app. Could the internet actually be set up, initially, without having to go through a pc? Could I just connect the modem to the airport and go through the airport ulilty app to set everything up, or would an actual computer be needed?

    I did call charter and asked, but they just seemed clueless as to what I was talkng about, so wonder if any of you have tried this? Thanks.
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #2
    You should be able to pre-configure your AE so you're ready to just connect to the internet when they bring the modem. If they require an authentication, be ready to configure it in the AU when they come to set you up. Otherwise, it should be the same as connecting a PC, no matter which device you're connecting first.

    If they require that the internet-facing MAC address be registered, be absolutely sure you use the AE first or you'll have hoops to jump through when you switch to the AE after initial set up with the Mac.
     
  3. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #3
    You do not need a computer. You can completely configure the AE using nothing but the Airport Utility on an iPad.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors G3

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #4
    Thanks. I knew I could configure the router...just was not sure if charter needed a computer to configure the modem first.
     
  5. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #5
    Oh I gotcha... no they will not. The modem config is done by them remotely once it is connected to the cable outlet.
     

Share This Page