Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ejb190

macrumors 65816
Original poster
I'm feeling the bug to reconfigure my home office. So I turn to Google to find some inspiration and all I find are these totally unrealistic staged photos. They have no work surface, shelf space for about 3 books, and a computer on the desk in the middle of the floor with no cables visible. Not to mention the lack of a desk lamp, any place for file storage, or a printer.

So for those of you with a home office, what is your source inspiration?

Edit: I should clarify - this is my "work" office. I've been WFH for closing in on 20 years. I'm a field inspector, so I spend a good bit of the winter in here and store a good amount of equipment. I guess I'm mostly whining that even when it comes to offices, the internet is full of unrealistic expectations!

Last edited:

eyoungren

macrumors Penryn
Aug 31, 2011
My 'home office' is one wall in the living room. A concession given to me by wife wife some years back. We have a three bedroom house, but the kids occupy two of those rooms. The garage is rather inhospitable during August (I live in Phoenix, AZ).

In any case, anything I do has to account for the 55" HDTV on the wall which serves as both a monitor and a TV. For my own personal Mac, the TV is just one of eight monitors so I need space. I'm using a dining table because large desks are hideously expensive (this table cost only $300).

I have plans to move another dining table in side by side to this one but just haven't gotten around to it. If I must have an 'inspiration' however, I suppose it's my two main 30" Cinema Displays. Both of those are also attached to my work Mac through a KVM.

If you care to see my current setup, just click the link that says '8 Displays' in my signature.

mk313

macrumors 68000
Feb 6, 2012