installing Leopard on PowerBook

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by zoran, Dec 28, 2010.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    does this kind of installation require some trick to be done?
     
  2. macrumors G5

    leekohler

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #2
    No- it should be fine, as long as you're not talking about Snow Leopard. 10.5 is perfectly compatible with PPC Macs. If I were you, I would make sure to max out the RAM.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #3
    As long as your CPU is 867 MHz or faster otherwise it isn't quite as straightforward.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
  5. macrumors regular

    datamonger128

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Location:
    Newport News, Virginia
    #5
    1.67MHz? You must be using an Apple I or something.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    Dr McKay

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    Kirkland
    #6
    Wow, thats a slow processor, please say that was a typo?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #7
    hahah sorry guys, yes its a typo, its Ghz... so what do you think?
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    tom vilsack

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Location:
    ladner cdn
    #8
    your good...try and max your ram (nice and easy on powerbook)
     
  9. macrumors G5

    leekohler

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    #10
    I am typing this on one of the last model G4 Powerbooks. I have 2 Gigs RAM and Leopard 10.5.8. Things work just fine, no tricks needed. DVD drive reads the Leopard DVD-DL just fine. I installed on a brand new HDD and farmed my old disk out to an external case.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #11
    cool which model do you have? is it the 1.65Ghz?
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #12
    There is no 1.65 GHz PBG4. If it's last gen, it's either 1.5 GHz or 1.67 GHz.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #13
    im not good with numbers sorry :D its 1.65
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #14
    Just to make one thing straight, before i make the reinstallation...
    If i remember correctly the guy that gave me that Powerbook had told me that he installed Leopard on it by some special way and not normally. Can this be true?

    Also while the OS is starting, the screen looks like a DOS screen with a lot of text/commands running trough it... why is this happening?

    techbyed do you have the same issues at boot with all those commands n stuff?
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #15
    It can be true, but it should work perfectly normally as your PowerBook is supported. Also, it sounds like your OS is booting in "Verbose Mode" instead of Normal Mode.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #16
    1. What does Verbose Mode practically mean?
    2. Slower speeds?
    3. Please tell me more about this and why does it run in this mode?
     
  17. macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #17
    Take your Powerbook in to an Apple store. Sounds like you might have a logic board failure, i.e. text on the screen. Leopard should install on it just fine, if you have a retail Leopard dvd, not a gray install disc from some other computer. Have the Apple store check your ram too.
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #18
    Nonsense. A logic board failiure wouldnt cause a Verbose Boot ("text on the screen") - It would either cause a kernel panic and stop it booting, or stop the machine starting completely. To the OP, try disabling verbose boot using the procedure in this article: http://osxdaily.com/2007/03/25/always-boot-mac-os-x-in-verbose-mode/. Verbose mode is just an option as Mac OS X is based on UNIX, it in effect lets you see the UNIXy underpinnings of the boot process - its a useful diagnostic tool, but could get annoying if their constantly.
     
  19. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #19
    That's the one I said doesn't exist ;)

    Just giving you a hard time, we all know what you mean :D
     
  20. macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #20
    You could be right, i was thinking about the "you must restart your computer" screen on a logic board failure.
     
  21. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #21
    Ok guys, i think im ready to install Leopard, or should it be Tiger? Maybe it will run faster with Tiger? What do you think?
    Anyhow what should i do in order to make the installation? How should i prepare things? I have data on the PBook that i want to save and make a clean installation!
     
  22. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #22
    one more thing, to which point does the system notify me that the OSX disc used cannot be used if its an OEM for eg. will it let me begin installation or what?
     

Share This Page