Instant Messaging

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by GiantsFan, May 20, 2004.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Location:
    san jose OR riverside, Cali
    #1
    I don't like iChat cuz i tried so hard, but my font colors wouldnt change and also non-iChat aim users can't see profile. i dont like AOL AIM 4.7. I want to dl and install GAIM, but dunno which package to dl. tar? tgz? bgz?
     
  2. macrumors G4

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Actually, it doesn't matter, at least between those three (as long as it's the Mac OS X version) - StuffIt Expander can decompress/decode/unarchive ALL THREE formats (I'm guessing you meant bz2, not bgz). StuffIt Expander can also handle its own .sit and .sitx formats, as well as .zip, .rar, .Z, and a bunch of others.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Phatpat

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Washington DC
  4. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    Can I ask a couple of random Adium questions? I just downloaded it and I kinda like it, but there are a couple of things that annoy me.

    1) This is really weird, but since AE takes a while to reinitialize after waking my iBook from sleep, I kinda use iChat as my thermometer to know my connection is active, since it blows up the buddy list and makes a noise as soon as it can. Is there any way to put *your own* status somewhere on the buddy list or something in Adium, or to make it chime when it logs in/out of one or more svcs? The only place I see it is in the menu. Especially also since some of the chat srvrs don't work some of the time, it'd be nice to know what you're connected to.

    2) Whenever I re-launch Adium, it seems to re-arrange the categories my buddies fall into. One time some of them will be in Co-Workers, and the next time, they will be in Family, instead of the friends category I created. And if I move them back, I get this "Could not add....for an unknown reason. The most common reason for this is that you have the maximum number of allowed buddies in your buddy list" error. I only have six people in my list all together. What's up with that?

    OTOH, I really like the customizable chat window, and some of the other things, although iChat, though less customizable, is more attractive to begin with IMHO....
     
  5. 7on
    macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #5
    I only use iChat because of the Rendezvous feature.
     
  6. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #6
    Go to the Adium forums and search for answers to your questions there. You will need to do a FunMac.com search (or, if you're like me, five searches), but be sure that you do the search under that forum.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #7
    Yeah, use AdiumX it is really good, but looks kinda uglier than iChat..Apple really needs to change iChat to have more features.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    #8
    ichat and proteus

    I like ichat because it is the only thing that allows me to video chat with micro**** users. Otherwise I use proteus 4.02 which I personaly like a lot better than adium.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    MacFan26

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    #9
    I've been using Adium, but only because it has more features than iChat (besides audio/video of course). The only thing I find annoying with Adium is the inability to change your buddy icon from the program. I'm one of those people that change their icons often, and it's sort of annoying to have to go somewhere else to do it. Oh well, I'll probably use it until iChat is a little better.
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Location:
    54140
    #10
    I do the exact same thing, and it is so handy, its rediculus! I love that "feature"!
     
  11. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #11
    Thanks (and sorry for trying to threadjack :(). I found that the buddy list thing is a known problem, and other people also requested the status indicators, although its not in Adium at this point.
     
  12. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #12
    Okay, now I feel better! :)
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #13
    The only problems I have with Adium are the random bugs that get through each release. Last week my friends said my font was size 8 and bright green even though I had it set to size 12 Helvetica Neue black. It seems every week I have a new bug to deal with, but besides that, it's so cool being able to basically tweak the GUI of the entire program according to what your desktop picture/color scheme is at the time.
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    gwuMACaddict

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    washington dc
    #14
    HAHAHAHAHA! i dont know why, but thats really kinda funny... makes me wonder if adium has been doing that to me too! they post frequent updates though, which is nice. :D :cool:
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    blue&whiteman

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    #15
    proteus offers nothing that fire or adium don't and they are free unlike proteus.

    fire seems to do a couple things that no other ones do. I use adium though.
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    abhishekit

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    akron , ohio
    #16
    i downloaded adium after reading this thread. its great. i have a question though. how do you use the emoticons, do you have to type the symbol, or cant u get a dropdown menu of icons in ur chat window?

    thanks
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    MacFan26

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    #17
    You either have to type the symbol, or there's a "Insert emoticon" under the edit menu. I don't think you can have a menu in the chat window. That would be nice though.
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    abhishekit

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    akron , ohio
    #18
    k thanks, one more question.
    how do we set it to take the pic from the address book, in place of the default duck icon?

    thanks
     
  19. macrumors 65816

    MacFan26

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    #19
    Go to Adium > Preferences > Advanced > Address Book
    Here you can import the images etc. from the address book.
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    abhishekit

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    akron , ohio
  21. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Location:
    san jose OR riverside, Cali
    #21
    woow. so many replies. LOL, i ended up stickin with aOL AIM 4.7. found the thing in preferencecs to set enter key as send. iChat still sucks (no offense to those who like it).
     
  22. macrumors 65816

    abhishekit

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Location:
    akron , ohio
    #22
    another question about adium
    how do you really set your status as away?
    i hv gone into prefs, and set an away message, and an auto response. .but still it doesnt show my status as away? :confused: :confused:

    edit: dont bother, i found it..

    thanks
     
  23. macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #23

    U can control or right click on teh space where u write and u can get emoticon there
     
  24. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #24
    easiest way is to right click the icon and select your message. i love the itunes integration. i always say "getting clean in the shower listening to %_track by %_artist. it looks at itunes and fills in the track and artist, real slick.

    iJon
     
  25. Wes
    macrumors 68020

    Wes

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Location:
    London
    #25
    Great stuff, I always have my nickname as: Wes %_status: %_track - %_artist, so my msn nickname is always something like: Wes playing: Saturday - Fall Out Boy. Impresses lots of people, although some think I'm sad enough to change my nickname every 30 seconds.
     

Share This Page