Intel HD 4000: MBA vs rMBP 13

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by KimHansenDK, Apr 2, 2013.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #1
    Is there a reason why the Intel HD 4000 has 768MB in the 13-inch rMBP and only 512MB in the MBA?

    I mean, it is the same integrated chip and the same Ivy Bridge i5/i7 dual core processor and 8GB ram.

    Just wondering...
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    B...

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    #2
    Because the Intel HD 4000 needs to run 3 million more pixels on the rMBP than the MBA.
     
  3. KimHansenDK, Apr 2, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2013

    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #3
    I know. But shouldn't it be possible to use the same 768MB in the MBA when it is the same ram and processor?
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    B...

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Location:
    Best Korea, North Korea.
    #5
    If I remember correctly, the more RAM you have, the amount of video memory increases.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
  7. macrumors 68000

    B...

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    #7
    Does it matter? It might decrease performance in GPU intensive activities, like video editing. But an Air was never meant for that because of its 1.8 GHz ULV processor. The Pro is much more capable as it has a 2.5 GHz full voltage processor which may not perform much higher in GeekBench, but makes it a much better computer all-around, especially with its screen, I/O, processor, etc.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    #8
    13" pro maxes out at 512mb as well. its probably overclocked in the retina to power the screen or somethin

    ----------

    and oddly, my 11" with hd4000 and only 4gb ram is at 512mb. when my pro had the same hd4000 and 4gb ram it was 368mb or something. odd
     

Share This Page