Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

brettbolt

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 16, 2006
Rocklin, California
My 20" Intel iMac arrived today. I'm a software developer, so I ordered it online when they were first available last week so I could port my code to intel. (I am the developer of Natural Scene Designer).

I thought I would share my first impressions here. Overall I like it but there are a couple of glitches.

1) When I powered the system on for the first time, it took about 10 minues before it finally recognized my wireless keyboard and mouse (even though they were only a few inches from the base). Finally I brought them to within 1/2 inch and they were recognized. I regret paying $60 extra for the wireless keyboard/mouse option, since I am used to a 2 button mouse and the "Mighty Mouse" has only one. So I'll just swap it with a plain old USB 2 button wired mouse.

2) The display is very nice, bright, with excellent text clarity. The only minor thing is that the edges (especially the bottom) of the display seem slightly darker than the rest of the screen.

3) It is the quietest computer I have ever owned. I can't hear it at all if I back off a few feet. However, the optical drive is quite audible. It makes about the same amount of noise as any other drive, except it sounds unusual when its reading a disc. It reminds me of an old fashioned mechanical adding machine - the kind with a crank and gears.