Resolved iPad 3 not getting internet, anyone else?

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by djrod, Jun 11, 2012.

  1. djrod, Jun 11, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2012

    macrumors 6502a

    djrod

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid - Spain
    #1
    My Wifi iPad 3 can't get internet through wifi, I can user home sharing to watch videos for example, but can't get Internet.

    My iPhone 4 works just fine with iOS 6, though.

    I'm the only one?

    Edit : If your router has an option called WMM, activate it and problem solved!
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    #2
    Same here. Glad I'm not the only one. I've tried a few different networks. WPA2 encrypted does not work. WPA Enterprise works fine. Rather frustrating.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    #3
    Ok. So I've attempted every configuration possible and I have no idea which device to blame. My current configuration is a Linksys 2500 router, MBP 2011, iPhone 4s, MBP 2009, Dell Studio XPS 16. Everything works fine except for the iPad 3rd gen. However, as I stated earlier, it does get access to the internet when on the corporate network at work. Anyone else experiencing this and if so what is your network setup?
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #4
    I'm having the same problem, and I also have a Linksys router. I've tried restoring and updating, 'forgetting' the network and renewing the lease, but I'm still not able to connect. The router is detected and my password was accepted. My iMac and MBA are working fine. The iPad is the wifi only version, and I've installed the appropriate build.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    tonyeck

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #5
    Same problem, unless I "internet share" from my MacBook Pro...

    There is a similar post on the dev. forums. No answer yet
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    oralmonkey

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    #6
    same here, cellular hotspot, workplace wifi or wifi sharing from ethernet, got that damn notice all the same.
    i hope apple has already been taking care of it
    got a little frustrated
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    #7
    Same here, 3rd gen Wifi only iPad.

    Restored using XCode's Organizer, but it's same using iTunes 10.6.3

    The iPad is restored just fine, and eventually displays the first launch setting assistant. The wifi networks can be seen after a while, can be joined (and the iPad gets an IP) but no internet connection. Turning airplane mode on and off, rebooting, turning wifi off and on, all these don't help.

    Linksys router here as well, but they are so common I don't think it's related. Or is it?

    I had no wifi problem on iOS 5.1 by the way. Well done Apple :/
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #8
    Same problem here, no Internet connection with new iPad, FritzBox! WPA2 connection.

    iPhone 4S works as expected.

    Tried both iPhone hotspot and Mac Internet Shared Connection and both works, maybe something with the wifi WPA2 encryption?
     
  9. macrumors 601

    Technarchy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    #9
    Either the problem is the user or the iPad...

    If it's the iPad, get it replaced...

    If it's you, get educated on how to use the device, and avoid traffic intersections...
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #10
    It's definitely something to do with the version of iOS 6 for the WiFi-only 3rd gen iPad. I have the issue too, and over on the Apple discussion boards there's lots of people complaining about it. Obviously there's some major kind of bug that wasn't ironed out.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djrod

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid - Spain
    #11
    I have two Internet connections at home, one with WPA and the other one with WEP, different manufacturers too, and I can't get internet from either of them, the iPad connect, shows that is connected in the top right, heck it even gets IP address, but no Internet.

    So sad, I'm back to iOS 5.1
     
  12. macrumors 601

    Technarchy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    #12
    Thankfully iOS6 is in Beta. Beta is rarely up to being a daily driver.
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    #13
    OK. Very same iPad, very same router. Wifi was working on iOS 5, is not working anymore on iOS 6 beta, and you don't even mention the possibility of the OS being the culprit. Totally makes sense. :rolleyes:


    edit: Apple dev forums seem down...
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    #14
    I had this after updating my iPad 3 to iOS 6. I went to settings, turned off wifi, and then reset network settings. Went back to wifi, connected to my router, and everything was fine again.

    Hope this helps.
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    #15
    Thanks for the tip. Just tried it, but it eventually didn't solve the issue. The only workaround was to use internet sharing from my Mac so far...
     
  16. Toby Ziegler, Jun 12, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2012

    macrumors regular

    Toby Ziegler

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    #16
    I've also got the same problem on my wifi only 3rd generation iPad. I tried resetting network settings, hard resets, clean restore as new, disabling my wifi security...none of it worked. According to my router and the iPad, all the appropriate network settings are being applied and it connects just fine, but no Internet traffic is going through.

    I get that its a beta, but that's one heck of a bug to have missed.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    djrod

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid - Spain
    #17
    the dev forums are really slow :/
     
  18. macrumors 65816

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    Sounds like it isn't getting a default gateway or the routing is messed - that is why you can access other hosts on the same network but nothing outside.

    I don't plan to put the beta on my iPad so I can't test this and give better feedback. Hopefully an update will be forthcoming.
     
  19. macrumors regular

    GravityEyes

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #19
    Hmmm. Any one having this problem with an Apple branded router?

    Waiting to install after more light is shed on this.
     
  20. macrumors 603

    nfl46

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    #20
    I am having this issue as well on my Wifi only iPad 3. But it seems like A LOT of people are experiencing it as well.
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #21
    Yea, I'm going to hold off in upgrading until this issue is resolved. An iPad is pretty useless without WiFi.
     
  22. macrumors 6502

    Sixtafoua

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #22
    Yes, same here. It's annoying, but I don't do much browsing on my iPad anyways.
    My iPhone 4's cellular internet also seems to lag more than before, but not nearly as bad as on the iPad.

    ----------

    i have an airport extreme, and I'm still having this problem.
     
  23. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    #23
    I got Lucky it seems, mine is working great here.

    One thing I did that may be different, because of the activation issue I read about, I updated mine from 5.1.1 insteadof doing a restore.

    Edit: Using Airport Extreme (latest one) at home and an old WRT54GL running ddwrt at work.
     
  24. macrumors 6502

    OmegaRed1723

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    The Waste
    #24
    32GB WiFi-only iPad3 here, and I have no problem with connecting to networks with the iOS6 beta.

    Knock on wood, this has been one of the least buggy beta1 builds I've seen from Apple in a while.
     
  25. macrumors regular

    GravityEyes

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #25
    I went ahead and installed it. All is working fine. I have an Apple time capsule which seems to work on both iPad and both iPhones that were updated to ios 6.
     

Share This Page