Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Koala Adorable

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 10, 2018
Hi, everyone! I'm thinking of buying the new IPad. Just to be clear, I've been using a Samsung tablet for the last few years, but during my trip I've realized I could really use an IPad. Why do I want an IPad? Because I'm a researcher and I'm reading all day long and I could really use to have most part of my library closed at hand. But what I've tried with my samsung is not to write. The apps in android are not as precise as the ones you can find for the appstore -believe me, I've tried-. So, basically, I need an IPad for reading and writing on PDFs and have a notepad organized with different entries. I do not need to listen to music, I'm not looking for a computer, I already have one. At the moment my books are on Dropbox and I would like to keep it that way. What I would like to know is whether a 32Gb IPad is enough for the activities I have just described. I wish there was a half-way point between 32 and 128, but there isn't. Thus, my question.
Can you help me?

Cheers, K.A.

Reactions: ShaunAFC3

Darmok N Jalad

macrumors 603
Sep 26, 2017
Tanagra (not really)
I think if you're pretty cloud-dependent, then you should be fine with the 32GB. The larger capacity edition would really only benefit you if you planned to store a big photo or movie library for offline use. How much space do you use on your Samsung tablet?

Koala Adorable

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 10, 2018
I think if you're pretty cloud-dependent, then you should be fine with the 32GB. The larger capacity edition would really only benefit you if you planned to store a big photo or movie library for offline use. How much space do you use on your Samsung tablet?
Thank you for your quick reply!
I'm using almost all its space, but it's a 16 gb. I have a couple of apps that I won't install on the IPad (like skype).